Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #4821 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2012, 06:06 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

I had a brown out shut me down for 2wks while I was away. Took the opportunity to reflag my supermicro back to stock. Both have been going for a few weeks now and I don't see any interruptions for a long time.

Did turn off some bitcoin rigs due to heat tho, running at 50% there.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #4822 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2012, 07:35 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Tried to keep 1-2p, 1-1p & 2 gpu units going today and even with all fans running I overheated the room. Looks like I will have to wait a bit longer for temps to get back down further...
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4823 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2012, 11:21 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Hey Alberta folders I have heard rumors that many landlords cover Power in your great Province.. is this true? if it is when I get to moving I will just keep my folders and fold 24/7 for the team :D
Reply With Quote
  #4824 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2012, 04:27 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
Hey Alberta folders I have heard rumors that many landlords cover Power in your great Province.. is this true? if it is when I get to moving I will just keep my folders and fold 24/7 for the team :D
Not in the Medicine Hat area, all apartments that doesn't have condo fees have there own meter. duplex/fourplex/sixplex all have there own meters too.

Welcome to the prairies. It been a HOT HOT HOT summer.
Reply With Quote
  #4825 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2012, 04:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

I stopped folding on my 680 both for heat reasons, and for the fact that I'm tired of dealing with the occasional unsupported WU and the fact that we have to run the -beta tag to get it to run at all.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4826 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 06:02 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

yeah I was afraid of getting the Keplers as they are not optimized for folding yet, a GTX 295 will do better than a 680 right now and with the money difference I can pay the hydro bill for the whole house for half a year. That is why I am getting the SR2 setup from gingerbee.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4827 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 06:38 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,513
Default

Actually it's not an 'optimization' or 'software' thing at all.

The 680 is not the 'compute' version .The double precision cores have been halved in favor of 'graphics' cores on this first Kepler version.680's dont fold worth a shit because it's not a real Kepler.The compute version of Kepler is prolly 6 mos away and will be 1000$....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #4828 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 12:03 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
That is why I am getting the SR2 setup from gingerbee.
Great to hear it's being kept in the family!
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #4829 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2012, 09:51 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Added water coolling to the 980x , this heat has been nerve racking long enough.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #4830 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2012, 04:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,514

My System Specs

Default

Changing color on Kakaostats board this weekend, going for dark red!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes