Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #4641 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 07:09 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Can you believe that the 4p downloaded an A3 core, and is folding a 6981? tpf of 1 min 13 secs, for 76k ppd... and just like you, it won't connect to upload a 6904 to 130.237.165.141...
I still have 10 hours on my 6904, that gives them some time to get the server fixed tomorrow with just a little bit of waiting.
Reply With Quote
  #4642 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 08:41 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Just got my power bill. It jumped up from $30 not folding (in the winter) to $104. Yikes. I'm sure they must've made a mistake! (considering I live in an apt and don't pay for heat)
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4643 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2012, 09:45 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
$104
Such a cute little power bill. I just want to squeeze its chubby little cheeks!
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #4644 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 02:12 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

So glad I don't pay the electricity although I'm afraid to run too much cus the land lord might kick me out but he hasn't noticed anything yet.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #4645 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 04:59 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Such a cute little power bill. I just want to squeeze its chubby little cheeks!
AHAHAHAHAHA

My thoughts exactly.
Just do the simple math. Check out your local Hydro / Power companys Kwh rates x how many watts your system runs x how many hours / day x 30 ish days = your cost.

Example: my SR2 running at 450W, in Nova Scotia (16c/Kwh) all the time.... = .450x16x24= $1.73/day (1.728 to be specific) x365 days = $630.72/year (about $52.56/month). Times that by three, and you have a rough idea of my SR2 farm when it was at home (yes, $1892.16/year) That's just for the SR2s. Add in air conditioning, and a full house of crap + 3 other computers and one other server that runs.. yeah. $100. I feel bad for you.

In all seriousness, if that's a bill over two months, or a raise of $70/month - that can be expected depending on what you're running and how efficient it is. I spend thousands on computer/server gear in the run of the year, but the electricity cost has to be factored in over long term.

My recommendation is if you're running a GPU client, i'd stop that and just run purely on the CPU.. on the newer sandybridge they are a lot more efficient. Get a kilo-watt meter at Canadian Tire or wherever and track your power usage and determine what's best for you.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #4646 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 05:47 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Such a cute little power bill. I just want to squeeze its chubby little cheeks!
Last winter (when i turned off my pc when i wasn't using it) my average hydro bill was $13. That's a pretty significant percentage increase!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #4647 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 07:05 AM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

It all adds up, I've been working on getting more efficient with all of the hardware that I have. Starting with every new power supply that i need I'm getting Gold rated power supplies. as an example i was using a 80PLUS rated power supply on a system and it was pulling 275W from the wall, Under the same conditions with a gold rated power supply it was pulling 255W. It doesn't sound like a whole lot but when you do the math, local rates are $0.10/KWh so 0.02KWx10x24=$0.05 per day translates to $18.25 per year and if I can take that as an estimate for the improvement it starts to add up over the lifetime of the system(s).

EDIT: I also have not been getting any 690x units. getting regular smp currently working on a 6099 with a tpf of 3:48
Reply With Quote
  #4648 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 07:37 AM
krazyups's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario
Posts: 277

My System Specs

Default

I shudder to think what I would be paying for all the older machines that I've got folding if they were at my house. Luckily, with the exception of my computer (from the system specs), all others are housed in my dad's office at his work, so he looks after them and we don't have to pay for the electricity.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4649 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 06:21 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Right... I find the 4p coming Home taking a breather, 2 WUs to upload, can't download. Ok, screw that - delete Core, Queue and Work, nothing. Still won't download a Core, nor a WU.
Right... delete / install Fah, tweak config file, damn thing won't download a Core.

Come on Stanford, get your act together. Oh, and it's 130.237.232.237...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...

Last edited by 3.0charlie; January 17, 2012 at 07:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4650 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2012, 07:04 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

I had similar problems earlier today. Deleted all WU's, Que.dat and machineindependent.dat and it got a 6904, yipee.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes