Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #4531 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2011, 06:53 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

I will be taking a break for like a week from folding, I just moved into another building, and I only have emergency internet connection, tethering on the iPhone. I left Colba.net and I am moving back with Acanac, so I might not get DSL till next Wednesday. Anyway weather has cooled a little so it will be nice for GPU folding until Bulldozer arrives, when I plan to get one and move to -bigadv. If the folding performance will scale like the 2600k and can be kept air-cooled at 4.5 GHz I guess we shall have a pretty nice folder.
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; September 30, 2011 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4532 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 12:48 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Just tried to do advmethods on my GTX580. The P6720 WU I received pulled an extra 90 watts from the wall. Ran 18C hotter and only gave me an extra 1000ppd. I think I'll pass on advmethods for now.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4533 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 01:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Just tried to do advmethods on my GTX580. The P6720 WU I received pulled an extra 90 watts from the wall. Ran 18C hotter and only gave me an extra 1000ppd. I think I'll pass on advmethods for now.
Well you're a lucky one to get more PPD on advmethods GPU3. My 550Ti takes a 2000 PPD penalty (along with the added power consumption)
If that computer wasn't a dedicated folder, did you notice any GUI lag on the 580?
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4534 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 01:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

there is no GUI lag on the GTX460, so i guess neither on 580
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4535 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 01:26 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
If that computer wasn't a dedicated folder, did you notice any GUI lag on the 580?
There is always GUI lag for me. But the GUI lag w/ advmethods made the OS completely unusable.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4536 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 04:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Yesterday's Team production: 4,599,680.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4537 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 06:37 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Yesterday's Team production: 4,599,680.
I'm a little over 1/5th of that.. had near a million PPD drop yesterday. It's just how the bigbetas work.. i'm sure others had their boxes flush big units together too. :)
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #4538 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 05:22 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Yesterday's Team production: 4,599,680.
Awesome eh ? ...I was shocked when I saw that page this morning.

I'm betting we exceed our Chimp Challenge full bore production on a regular basis soon.

**Again**

hawhaw....

Let's Go Team !!!

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #4539 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 05:29 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

Yep we had a pretty good day again! I dumped a bigbeta as well I believe.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4540 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 08:30 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

Well i think i have king quad back up and running on (nearly) free power in my condo, been months since I rebooted it even and forgot all the commands to get it up and runing. Hope I got it right, cant remember if I was suppose to load the kracken and langouste before fah or if it was gonna launch on unit completion, man I dont wanna re-read musky's thead on H.

Sorry to tease you 3 who may have seen me in your sights again for a couple days.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes