Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #401 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 07:13 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I think I might try to set up VMware and Linux folding with my i7.

Supposedly you can get up to 9k out of an i7 by running 4 VMs! More to come when I figure this out!
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #402 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 07:19 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

I'm staying far away from Vmware. Too many issues last time I folded using it, and dual Linux instances.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #403 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 07:21 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Really? I tried to set it up when I had a Q6600 and it was a bit of a PITA, that's for sure.

Well, I'll give it a go and see what happens. If it fails, I'll move back to setting up double SMP (and I'm sure I'll be asking you for tips!)
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #404 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 08:41 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

A real pain, unstable too. I don't think it's worth the ppd delta.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #405 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 08:48 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Really? That blows.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #406 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 10:08 AM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 801

My System Specs

Default

Darnit I lost the link for the instruction to get 2 cards folding on the same machine. Could someone be so kind to link it. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #407 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 10:15 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwaysrun View Post
Darnit I lost the link for the instruction to get 2 cards folding on the same machine. Could someone be so kind to link it. Much appreciated.
This should do it; Folding@home - WinGPUGuide
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #408 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 10:51 AM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 801

My System Specs

Default

lol why can't I ever find a folding instructional how-to that shows what I see. I like pictures and none of this looks anywhere near like vista 64bit I have. I'll muddle through I guess. I may be stumped tho as I have no 2nd monitor or a "dummy" cord to work with here. plus I see problems with getting this 9800 gt jiving with my 260s 64bit drivers.. gahh I wish I could talk to someone on ventrillo or even irc would be a help. maybe I can use my laptop monitor as a 2nd monitor to help. *shrug

Thanks LCB for the link.
Reply With Quote
  #409 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 10:57 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

2 cards using a dummy connector (built following this: The 30 Second Dummy Plug - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net; a visit to Radio Shack and 2 minutes of assembly) and the Systray Client is relatively easy. The only bug with this client guide is the fact that it does not clearly mention to extend the desktop to the second card. Otherwise it's straight-forward.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #410 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2009, 11:06 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to swing by The Source this afternoon to pick up some resistors.

Then soon I'll have all four GPUs folding
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes