Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #3761 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2011, 04:24 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Dunno about that resolution..... Put dual msi twin frozr II 470's on my old P5W Deluxe Home mobo with the qx6700es chip. Was working ok at a slight overclock (gpu's) 14.7kppd per card. Then I had the stupid idea of squeezing more out of them. While bringing them down from obvious artifacting I ran the msi Kombustor (kinda like Furmark) and the machine locked up. No biggie right? Well it wont boot anymore. Rig turns on, all the fans spin up but nothing, eventualy the cpufan spins down.... Tried clearing cmos, tried unpluging power from the gpu's (didnt remove cuz they're a pain the way I have this setup rigth now).

I'm at a loss, short of taking everything apart and piecing it back together slowly anyone have some clues?

On the bright side I found a local buyer for some of the things that came installed with the supermicro board I bought from the f/s forum, couple fb-dimm sticks and if there arent any errors all 4 of them. Then he expressed interest in the "Extra Special" xeons that the board came with. Cold make it so I only spent $200 for the board and 8gb of fb-dimms.

Maybe I can work it so that profit from the fb-dimms/xeons gets me whatever I blew on the dual470 rig, then I'd still not be out of pocket for folding this year.....
Maybe you toasted the power supply.... either that or one of the videocards is dead... a dead card usually prevents the board from posting. I'd remove the cards first... swap in a known good one and see if the board posts...
Reply With Quote
  #3762 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2011, 04:35 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

also possible they drew way too much power from the pci-e slots, or the heat generated in the box fried something. sorry to hear that man

do take it apart.
Reply With Quote
  #3763 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2011, 05:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

What was the PSU?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3764 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2011, 06:40 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

Corsair gs800, guess it comes apart.
Oh well got the i7-975@4.4 at least 12hrs folding stable so it's been moved to the land of nearly free power in my condo.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #3765 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 04:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

GPU3 Project 6805 is now live on -adv. Putting out a good 600+ PPD better performance than usual on my 450s.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3766 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 06:17 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

Great work everyone !......

We've been doing nearly 2 million ppd for the last couple of days , no contest or anything !

Very cool.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #3767 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 07:23 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Wow guys yes keep it up. I finally got my two 970s going, for 107K PPD at the moment...and its not tripping the circuit breaker!!!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3768 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 03:24 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

So are bigadvs commonplace once again? Haven't done any real WU's in the past 6 weeks.
Reply With Quote
  #3769 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 03:32 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
So are bigadvs commonplace once again? Haven't done any real WU's in the past 6 weeks.
I've had nothing but -bigadv for quite a while now...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #3770 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2011, 07:06 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

noob question here.... Not sure if this is only related to using GPU Tracker V2, but is there something I'm missing when it comes to the queue? Any way to turn it off?

Trying (again) to run -bigadv units on my laptop and it seems that after completing my first unit in a bit under 2days (44kppd) the very next unit is something that was downloaded at the same time as the first, and as such usualy has just over a day left until the deadline, I wont meet and it resulting in about 4.5kppd. If I delete the 2nd unit right away and have the client re-download a new wu, its fresh and I've got 3days wich is doable.

Anyone else know what I'm talking about or know how to solve my dilema?
thanks.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes