Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #3641 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 08:23 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Is it normal to drop from 100% usage once every 30 mins or so then go back up to 100% for another 30 mins, or does it have to stay at 100%?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3642 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 08:36 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Good call!!! Got the swap to a new core here.....

Also ended up with both cards reporting a single failed unit, which I'm assuming is this instance.
Same here, both cards that show the new display style both had a failed work unit. The first one since they've been folding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Never had a problem gpu folding before, any advice? This is with a MSI GTX460 in my I7 920 that has had no problems in the past. I tried uninstalling the card, drivers and gpu client, no luck.

Just had the same thing today. Turned off my computer and re-started the client and it worked fine. With a MSI GTX460 1GB.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3643 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 08:37 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

depends on the wu, and what else is running. right now everest and precision say that my gpu is at 99%, sometimes it skips and misses on usage .
Reply With Quote
  #3644 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 11:28 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

I don't know what they did to the GPU3 core but I like it, still getting 800-1000 more ppd per gpu and as a bonus I'm getting an extra ~3000 ppd on the -bidadv...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #3645 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2010, 11:46 PM
Xeven's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 491
Default

Ditto, getting the same for all the 460/450's that I have. I can't verify the -bigadv, i'm running a P2686 and P2685 at crawl mode along with multiple gpu3 clients. THe P2685 apparently will make it by 27 minutes, mostly because it had a 6 hour downtime when I moved it to a new chassis. The P2686 is faring better, ~28K PPD using -smp 6 with 3 gpu3's running at the same time, though I expect it to go down soon.

Whatever they're doing I'm all for it, getting an extra ~5-8K is always nice.
__________________

PSXeven. Batards of the World Unite!
The gap between happiness and utter misery is only but a few inches

Last edited by Xeven; November 8, 2010 at 11:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3646 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 12:26 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

I'll take it, with everybody's ppd going through the roof lately I'm going to have to get serious about this Folding stuff again soon.

Good stuff...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #3647 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 01:06 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,119

My System Specs

Default

People are still getting bigadvs? I got one per client in the past 2 weeks.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3648 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 05:42 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
People are still getting bigadvs? I got one per client in the past 2 weeks.
Very few on my bigadv rig since a month
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3649 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 07:59 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Down clocked my 460 and so far it's folding..*crosses fingers and toes*
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3650 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2010, 08:51 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Down clocked below stock?

If so I'd RMA it, since after all you paid to use the CUDA fonctions on the card, and even at stock, they are not stable. Just a thought!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes