Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #2131 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 11:25 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

It was just put together, wouldnt boot. Previously the board ran for 3wks on air cooling, then died and went to Asus for repairs. There's many others over on extremesystems.org that loath this board now too, for what it could have been if it didnt die every so often.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #2132 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 11:05 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwm View Post
Nothing you really need to study up on with TLER except for what means, what it does and why.
What he said. In fact, I think even if you try to enable TLER in a single-drive or RAID0 situation, it will still automatically disable itself.

TLER is just WD's word for it too. Basically, it's error recovery. Samsung, Seagate, Hitachi - they all have different ways of saying the same thing.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #2133 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 11:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
It was just put together, wouldnt boot. Previously the board ran for 3wks on air cooling, then died and went to Asus for repairs. There's many others over on extremesystems.org that loath this board now too, for what it could have been if it didnt die every so often.
reminds me of nf2 dfi mobos back in the day. great, when working :)
Reply With Quote
  #2134 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 10:34 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Anyway, all I can say is wowzers! I've dropped four whole minutes from my frame times by running the ramfs script!
Okay, so this is interesting...

Given the unmitigated success of mounting a ramdrive to my work folder on the machine running the Bigadv client in a VM, I thought I'd go ahead and try the same thing on my other Bigadv machine, which is running Linux natively. And guess what - mounting a ramdrive to my work folder on the native machine made absolutely zero difference to my frame times. Didn't so much as shave off a second.

Weird, eh? That it would shave more than 10% off of frame times inside a VM, but have no impact whatsoever in a native environment. I wonder why that is?
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #2135 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 11:15 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

How can you tell when you have 10 wu's sent in using your passkey?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2136 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 01:29 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
How can you tell when you have 10 wu's sent in using your passkey?
Count how many you send in?
Reply With Quote
  #2137 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 02:15 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Count? I have too many going....
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2138 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 02:50 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

In your log file it tells you how many units you've submitted every time one is uploaded. Just find the initial number, and keep checking it until you've uploaded ten more.
Reply With Quote
  #2139 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 02:53 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

I'll just wait 5 days or so......
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2140 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 02:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

It should take about three days at most; if it takes more then you won't make the deadline for the -bigadv bonus.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes