Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks [email protected] Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #2081 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2009, 11:56 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,540

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llama_egg View Post
How long does it take for FahMON to show that the VMware is churning? My CPU is at 100% on each core (give or take a couple %) and my memory is at 80%, but yet it still shows it as paused. I'm slightly confused.

Edit; Well, it appears to be working after all, finally got a message saying;

Oddly enough though, it still shows it as paused.

Edit #2; From 1% to 2% it took 45 minutes, does this seem remotely right? If I'm not mistaken, that's 75 hours to complete a single project. 3 days seems a bit long all things considered, is it possible I'm missing something?

Also, apparently I'm 1,717,988% done according to FahMON. Huh...
Ideally you want to be about 40 mins per step.

Also, click Tools->Download New Projects in FahMon and hopefully the percentages will fix itself.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #2082 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 12:05 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llama_egg View Post
The fact it hits roughly 75c when at 100% load makes me a bit worried about pushing it a bit further!
That's really not a problem. Current Intel CPUs can take temperatures up to 100C without any issues.
Quote:
Originally Posted by llama_egg View Post
Edit #2; From 1% to 2% it took 45 minutes, does this seem remotely right? If I'm not mistaken, that's 75 hours to complete a single project. 3 days seems a bit long all things considered, is it possible I'm missing something?

Also, apparently I'm 1,717,988% done according to FahMON. Huh...
It'll take some time to report accurately. Expect at least 3 or 4 percent before that happens. Also, I recommend you use HFM.NET instead, because aside from the fact that it has more features than Fahmon, it also calculates your PPD while taking into account the bonus you get from -bigadv (Fahmon only calculates PPD based on the value of the unit, but it does not calculate the bonus). You can find HFM.NET here: hfm-net - Project Hosting on Google Code
Reply With Quote
  #2083 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 04:37 AM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 747
Default

Quote:
Ideally you want to be about 40 mins per step.
Really? So this is really, give or take a few minutes correct?

Quote:
[08:49:22] Completed 15000 out of 250000 steps (6%)
[09:33:55] Completed 17500 out of 250000 steps (7%)
[10:18:09] Completed 20000 out of 250000 steps (8%)
[11:02:27] Completed 22500 out of 250000 steps (9%)
I just figured it should have been moving faster then that. Apparently I was worrying over nothing.
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #2084 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 05:22 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,884

My System Specs

Default

As a reference my Main raig is folding bigadv WU at a 32 minutes tpf, and that's with dual E5520s (Stock).
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #2085 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 07:02 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,540

My System Specs

Default

llama you are doing about 44 minutes tpf. That is good for ~16.5K according to this:
[email protected] Bigadv Bonus Point Calculator

A little slow, but looks typical for 3.1GHZ.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #2086 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 08:05 AM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 747
Default

Decided to try -smp 8 instead of 7, along with dedicating 5 gigs to it, hopefully it'll make bit of a difference.

Thanks for the help guys, I guess I was just being a bit paranoid over nothing!
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #2087 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 08:17 AM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

I don't think you're slow. You just have a bit more natural caution built in than some of us do. Paranoid can be good sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #2088 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 08:50 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,279

My System Specs

Default

Do we have a big WU install guide? (just woke up, me lazy) Can it be done in notfreds?
__________________
heatware

Reply With Quote
  #2089 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 10:06 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 815

My System Specs

Default

Just bumped my CPU to 3.6ghz instead of 3.2ghz and both my video cards from stock to ~eVGA GTX285 SSC level 675/1546/2534 and gained ~2k PPD overall
Reply With Quote
  #2090 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2009, 11:05 AM
El_Fiendo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Do we have a big WU install guide? (just woke up, me lazy) Can it be done in notfreds?
VMware 3.0 && bigadv folding

Here you are sir. I don't think its possible to use notfreds, as I believe there are additional files required. However I'd recommend using the one provided in the link anyways, as it will output a percentage completed into the VMware Player window. I was actually surprised that the -bigadv Work Units were easy for me to setup than the notfreds folding VM.

As for comments about TPF, I've had as low as 32 and change, but I average around 34:04 on an OC of 4.01 GHz. It's all about what you are comfortable clocking your computer up to, though I also recall there being mention that a faster RAM setting will yield better results. Did that ever pan out?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes