Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1391 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 05:24 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,401

My System Specs

Default

Did you try swapping around the power cables feeding the vid cards? Is it possible that one of the PCIe power supply lines is struggling?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #1392 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 05:25 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Yeah, it's at stock and it's only on the fourth GPU. It's the same problem that I had before, when it wouldn't detect the fourth "monitor" except it does detect it now. This setup has been working fine for a month.
I don't believe that is your rigs issue....but a Stanford issue. Those workunits are disgusting and should all be deleted. They cause nothing but grieve for a whole bunch of people! Sometimes I spend an hour just deleting those WU's until I get one that works! PPD has gone down drastically because of those!\

Good Luck man!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #1393 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 05:47 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,060

My System Specs

Default

I have yet to have a problem on the 353's. All 3 of my Video Cards grab at least 3-5 per day and I have yet to see in any of my logs one Failing or making my card become unstable.
Maybe its a Case by Case basis? But i've probably done 100 even without a problem.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #1394 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 07:15 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
I have yet to have a problem on the 353's. All 3 of my Video Cards grab at least 3-5 per day and I have yet to see in any of my logs one Failing or making my card become unstable.
Maybe its a Case by Case basis? But i've probably done 100 even without a problem.

ST
I agree, I have issues with the SMP client (which I wasn't even able to do before without VMWare)... which I think I have worked out on my Quad ... for now... Its been going for a good 36 hours without too many problems (hasn't crashed the computer! One or two "out of memory issues... but overall going strong).

I'm getting a lot of 353's and I dont see any issues on my gpu's with them. I dont push the OC on my shaders though... So if your having issues I would suggest pulling back on the shaders a little, or trying a different driver. Because I have 4 GTX 260's and they aren't crashing on the 353s.

ps. If you check my folding profile and see the drop in ppd, this is an unrelated issue with me tryign to get smp/VMWare going, the gpu's have not been crashing!
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #1395 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 07:31 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
I have yet to have a problem on the 353's. All 3 of my Video Cards grab at least 3-5 per day and I have yet to see in any of my logs one Failing or making my card become unstable.
Maybe its a Case by Case basis? But i've probably done 100 even without a problem.

ST
Yeah, I'm not sure. It only happens with the fourth GPU

I should have stuck with my 3 GTX 285s

I only went to the 295s for folding!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Did you try swapping around the power cables feeding the vid cards? Is it possible that one of the PCIe power supply lines is struggling?
Tried that. Tried swapping the card around (which ended up requiring me to remove the back panel on my H2GO to get the cards to slot back into the stupid acrylic mobo tray properly because they would seat!)

I tried running just one card with the bottom PCIE slot with those cables and it folds fine. It only seems to happen when I run 4 GPUs.

I noticed it's the "57XX" work units.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #1396 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 07:41 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,060

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_di2 View Post
I agree, I have issues with the SMP client (which I wasn't even able to do before without VMWare)... which I think I have worked out on my Quad ... for now... Its been going for a good 36 hours without too many problems (hasn't crashed the computer! One or two "out of memory issues... but overall going strong).

I'm getting a lot of 353's and I dont see any issues on my gpu's with them. I dont push the OC on my shaders though... So if your having issues I would suggest pulling back on the shaders a little, or trying a different driver. Because I have 4 GTX 260's and they aren't crashing on the 353s.

ps. If you check my folding profile and see the drop in ppd, this is an unrelated issue with me tryign to get smp/VMWare going, the gpu's have not been crashing!

Yeah, I have all 3 VC's of mine running stock Shaders/Mem/Core . Maybe that is the possible issues, the 353's are 'fragile' like that.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #1397 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 08:11 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_di2 View Post
I'm getting a lot of 353's and I dont see any issues on my gpu's with them. I dont push the OC on my shaders though...

Ahahah right after I post this, when I got home last night from work, one of my gpu's wasn't folding. It was due to a 353 WU - too many EUE's, the card was OC'd with an additional 75 shaders.... so that may have effected it... but I think I'm starting to believe the conspiracy of the bad 353's
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #1398 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 12:57 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

There are definitely issues, same here with my folding rig.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #1399 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 01:04 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I think there are some problems.

My GPUs are fine, all at stock (especially with the warm weather) and I'm still getting NANS and EUEs
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #1400 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 01:05 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
There are definitely issues, same here with my folding rig.
See? I told you guys..... those 353's are screwed up! For some anyways..... I've deleted tons of them now....and they keep coming!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes