Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2008, 04:45 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default FAH "Unstable Machine" EUE limit etc...

I have an issue with the machine in my sig, on Windows XP. This has been happening the last week or so:
[04:25:13] Completed 25%
[04:25:13] mdrun_gpu returned
[04:25:13] NANs detected on GPU
[04:25:13]
[04:25:13] Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
[04:25:18] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
[04:25:18] Sending work to server
[04:25:18] Project: 4744 (Run 0, Clone 591, Gen 2)
[04:25:18] - Error: Could not get length of results file work/wuresults_00.dat
[04:25:18] - Error: Could not read unit 00 file. Removing from queue.
[04:25:18] EUE limit exceeded. Pausing 24 hours.
[05:25:39] + Working...

I have been getting a similar error every time, and by reading around the various forums, I decided to try the following:
- delete the folding folder in app data to force a download of the latest core
- install new Catalyst drivers (use driverclean to completely get rid of old ones first), currently 8.10s
- uninstall FAH and reinstall.
- reduce cpu OC (run at stock)

I have tried the above steps one at a time, and have also done a combination of these steps (ie. uninstall drivers and fah, deleted the app data folder, run at stock, then reinstall each). I have heard of issues with the new FAH cores and ATI cards in my travels, but the above attempts usually solved this for others.

This setup worked perfectly fine for a few weeks, but now I don't think it has successfully completed any work units at all. The only other issue with this setup I had was the adapter getting reset under Vista, and the "atikmdag" issue, which I am not sure are related. Otherwise since I moved back to XP, the computer is completely stable, and folded fine for at least a couple of weeks.

Any ideas?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2008, 06:32 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

I am not to familiar with ATI stuf as I run nvidia cards, from a quick look at the Folding forums all I can see is:
run the console client, not the systray
don't let it install in the program files [x86] or user data directory's
run as administrator
increase the fan speed on the GPU

Also are you running Boinc as well, if so try stopping Boinc for a bit to see if it helps. You might need to run it at less than 100% cpu since the GPU needs an entire core on XP
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 06:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I can't shake my UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors either... I seem to be able to complete 4732 units but nothing else. Computer's in my sig, and the errors I get are posted below. Maybe it's my PSU or motherboard but I don't have the time or money to go swapping components in and out.

I solved the "NANs detected on GPU" problem in Vista by using Administrator mode, but I never saw the error in Windows XP. Ususally it wouldn't let me complete even 1% before I get a NANs error. The Nonzero force error I get seems to be random, sometimes waiting until I'm 89% or so complete before destroying my run.

I tried:
- Catalyst versions 8.7 thru 8.10 on Windows XP 32 and Vista 64
- Disable antivirus and firewall
- Disable Sidebar
- GPU (stock cooler) fan speed 100%
- Underclock to as low as the CCC (500/750) would allow running 100% fan speed
- Closing CCC after applying fan mod
- Using ATI display driver without CCC
- Uninstall FAH and reinstall (tried both console and systray variations, stored in E:\fah)
- Granting my user account "full control" over the folder.
- CPU-starving the client by allowing it to only use 50% of one core

My system is stable for anything other than GPU folding, and when I get UNSTABLE_MACHINE, no other program is affected. For stability, I verified CPU with Prime95, and then 6 runs of IntelBurnTest. I also verified my memory with memtest86, and my GPU by running FurMark (renamed the EXE) overnight on stock fan speeds.

Running either Windows XP MCE 32-bit or Windows Vista HP 64 bit I get:
[13:00:27] Completed 1%
[13:13:17] Completed 2%
[13:28:19] Completed 3%
[13:28:19] mdrun_gpu returned
[13:28:19] Nonzero force sum on GPU
[13:28:19]
[13:28:19] Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
[13:28:27] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 07:07 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Mine started getting a lot of these as well. I'm thinking it's probably a bug of some form, but there wasn't a lot of info on the FAH forums when I checked earlier this evening.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 07:17 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
I can't shake my UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors either... I seem to be able to complete 4732 units but nothing else.
I had the same issue with my 4870, drove me nuts so I stopped folding again. Boinc FTW!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 07:41 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

I have read in a few forums of people having issues with the new core and ATI cards. Pretty annoying. I won't have much time until this weekend to troubleshoot. I am thinking that I might turn off Boinc and see if I can complete a few work units to see if thats an issue (just got my RAC up in Boinc so i don't want to shut down).

I am actually thinking of going nvidia as I have had problems with my gpu since I went from my 8800GT to 4870...just don't have the time or cash this instant, and the 4870 is supposed to be a great card and I don't want to give up yet.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 03:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Update: Last night, I wanted to check if the problem really was my GPU, so I set an overclock that I KNEW WAS UNSTABLE (690/1170). With this unstable OC, I would fail FurMark in about 2 seconds, but I was actually able to COMPLETE a 4742 work unit. I had the failing FurMark open alongside my GPU console client, which was still happily churning away. I EUE'd shortly after on a series of 4744 work units. I also had the CCC window open to the Overdrive menu the whole time, and my CPU folding / BOINC was off at the time.

From that experiment, it looks like the bug lies somewhere else, or I should've immediately (or at least somewhere along the line) EUE'd with the unstable overclock.

Next experiment:
- Virtualization tech off
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 02:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

I've stopped running the GPU client on my ATI card until they get this figured out.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 03:02 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

I just walked in the door with a brand-spankin new EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 card...gonna install it now. I'll be selling my 4870! Shame...I wanted to keep this card for a long time but I have had issues with drivers and folding since I got it. Never ever had such issues with nVidia cards.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 03:56 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Guys, this is not just an ATI issue. I've gotten tons of these EUE's lately(2/3/4 per day). They believe it has something to do with the 58XX WU(for nVidia). Has nothing to do with my system since everything is running stock. I do hear that nVidia does a little better when it comes to the EUE issue. So I just downloaded the 178.24 drivers and core 1.18 for the Systray application and the results are looking up. I might get them once every two days now.

Oh and for the latest update.....I just saw that there is a new core available: 1.19. It apparently increase your PPD a bit and generates less EUE's YAY!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes