Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 05:52 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default Would This Be Good Enough To Fold?

I have an older system and want to know if it would be good enough to fold with.

AMD Athlon XP 3000+ Barton
Asus VIA KT400 Mobo
Crucial 1GB (2x512MB) Memory
Onboard Video
60GB Hard Drive
Windows XP Pro SP2

The reason why I want to use this system to fold with is because it belong to my father-in-law and he died of cancer 3 years ago.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 05:59 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Hey Jerry,

that old system wouldn't go very far for folding - it wouldn't be very efficient with the SMP Client. Can you add a nVidia card on it? 'cause the GPU Client is really worth it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 06:09 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

What would be a good AGP Nvidia Card for it?
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 06:21 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

7900, 7950... but I don't have any numbers readily available.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 06:23 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Also the Ati 3650 AGP could be a good model; I remembered Braineater asking about this: A New Hope.......
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 06:45 PM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
7900, 7950... but I don't have any numbers readily available.
Those cannot fold. There is no AGP CUDA-compatible cards on the nvidia side. On the Ati side, the 3650 is a good bet.
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 07:06 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,642

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xilikon View Post
Those cannot fold. There is no AGP CUDA-compatible cards on the nvidia side. On the Ati side, the 3650 is a good bet.
You are quite correct. I'm not too sure where I put my head tonight.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 08:08 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

So is the 3650 the only ATI AGP GPU that will work with F@H GPU Client?
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 08:20 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

With that system you have and that card if you get it, you will only get about 250 to 300 PPD. just so you know.
that motherboard is only a 4X is it not.



Edit: also there is the 3850 DDR3 512MB but thats like $240 for that card, do not think you want to spend that much on a card.
the 3650 is $89 right now at NCIX

NCIX.com - Buy Powercolor Radeon HD 3650 725MHZ 512MB 1.0GHZ DDR2 AGP 2XDVI TV Out Video Card - AG3650 512MD2 In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy Sapphire Radeon HD 3850 512MB GDDR3 AGP 2XDVI HDCP HDTV Out Video Card - 100228L In Canada.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware

Last edited by yycraven; October 14, 2008 at 08:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2008, 04:26 AM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 447
Default

For 240$ of the 3850, you are better off building a new PCI-E setup and get a cheap 8800GS for about 90$.
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes