Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 08:11 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default My 9800GT seems subpar

Performance wise, I haven't been able to bust 4K a day on it. And I've seen people that get over 5K on 8800GT/9800GT's

e6300 @ stock, one core running the regular old console, the other feeding the GPU
XP Pro
178.13 drivers
Gainward 9800GT 512MB @ default clocks
FAH client 6.20r1 built Aug 12, 2008
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 08:18 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Couple of things.... believe it or not..... the GPU client actually runs better under Vista!!!!! :)

The stock clocked E6300 might also be costing you a few hundred PPD (try running it without the console and I think you'll find a boost to GFX PPD).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 08:30 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Hey bend just giving yea some suggestions try only overclocking the Shaders on the card i have my Cpu underclocked to 1.4ghz and im still getting the same ppd 5249pdd. And like SSwilson said use Vista lol but dam its such a memory hog. Btw i set my Shaders to 1850 at 1860 i get errors so 1850 has been safe and true for me, im sure yours can achieve the same as well.


BTW just an update guys if some remember i was testing cpu freq with ppd on the gpu console there seems to be no correlation. Even underclocked to 1.4ghz but yet same shaders at 1850 results in same ppd.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 08:32 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Vista is better than XP for ppd.
Use 177.92 drivers with Physx support.
Stock card - only overclock the shaders for max ppd output.
The stock CPU may have an impact, but nothing compared to the other points.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 08:53 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
Hey bend just giving yea some suggestions try only overclocking the Shaders on the card i have my Cpu underclocked to 1.4ghz and im still getting the same ppd 5249pdd. And like SSwilson said use Vista lol but dam its such a memory hog. Btw i set my Shaders to 1850 at 1860 i get errors so 1850 has been safe and true for me, im sure yours can achieve the same as well.


BTW just an update guys if some remember i was testing cpu freq with ppd on the gpu console there seems to be no correlation. Even underclocked to 1.4ghz but yet same shaders at 1850 results in same ppd.
I've done the same thing Dashock. When my E6600/9800GTX+ is Folding downstairs, i downclock it to 1.8GHz or lower.. to help lower the energy consumption/heat. It doesn't lower it a lot, but it doesn't hurt PPD.. so why not?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 09:10 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Tanker View Post
I've done the same thing Dashock. When my E6600/9800GTX+ is Folding downstairs, i downclock it to 1.8GHz or lower.. to help lower the energy consumption/heat. It doesn't lower it a lot, but it doesn't hurt PPD.. so why not?



Just trying to save us all money!
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 10:15 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Hmm. With one console client running usage of the GPU core was maxing out at about 20% of CPU1 (remaining 30%ish was idle). By killing the second CPU core running on CPU0 the GPU core CPU usage goes up to 50%. I don't appear to have this problem with the Ati client, but I'd better double check when I get home.

Thanks everybody.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes