Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 10:16 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Just checked the offical ATX 2.1 standard .pdf document for the measurements. Did a little conversions annndddd:
Mounting holes are 72.39mm x 157.48mm.... Seems likes those bolts he used must be bent or slanted.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 10:20 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Interesting. I just use the coat hanger method myself :)
Umm haha was that some terrible abortion joke? LOL! I must be missing something!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 10:21 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Just checked the offical ATX 2.1 standard .pdf document for the measurements. Did a little conversions annndddd:
Mounting holes are 72.39mm x 157.48mm.... Seems likes those bolts he used must be bent or slanted.
They're slanted, because he does say in it that the holes may not fit exactly - which is why he didn't tighten the bolt fully so that it left room to adjust them.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 10:24 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,716

My System Specs

Default

Make sure you are measuring the fans from the centre of their holes if you intent to match up with the mobo. So it should be pretty close I think. I have not done any testing or anything though, just an 80mm fan within reach and a ruler.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 10:42 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

I didnt measure the fan, the numbers i gave were from the center of the mounting holes a ATX-spec motherboard.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 12:21 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Rofl, no. I just dont use a case so pieces of coat hanger looped thru two fan holes and stuck into a mb box is all I have used for years.



Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Umm haha was that some terrible abortion joke? LOL! I must be missing something!
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 12:30 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
Well, all ISPs in Canada fully suck ...
We are getting off topic though.
Srry to continue the off topic.......

On what do you base this ?

My 10 Mbit shaw cable connection would argue.

.
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 12:33 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

My 25mbit Shaw connection will disagree also.

20 minutes to DL a 1080p blueray rip.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 12:45 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

Nice !!!

I'm curious how well yer 'Nitro' connection works.....I've been eyeing it myself since it came out... I don't utilize all of my 10 mbit as it is tho.....
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2008, 12:48 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Heh. Did you know the S775 mounting holes are exacly the right size to mount a 80mm fan? I found that out, mounted one on the screws for my Fusion WB, to cool my PWM
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes