Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2008, 09:51 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Para Franck it really starts with card itself on the manufacturing level, cheaper card cheaper parts. If every video card was built equal we would all be running inexpensive videocards at the highend level, the reason your overclock might not stay stable anymore is the stress on the components not capable of handling it for extended periods of time or its operating near or at its limits. I honestly believe that theres a limitation of to every part to a computer and with all stressing and overclocking that has become very popular its pretty simple to see that the manufacturers have responded with higher qaulity parts. Take a look at your average motherboard we talk more and more about the qaulity of solid state caps, better VRM or ferite chokes and even the caps used in powersupplies its all relative in the end because in turn the more expensive boards tend perform better then the ones without the better parts especially when we overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2008, 04:14 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Nope.

Its absolutely an article I would not pay attention to.

If you want to know how to do it properly then ask.. theres enough people around who has done this properly.

please post a very good article (link) or post your own article....

i am interesting to know new method of OC the video card... i mean i never tried OC before... because of my 6 years old gaming/entertainment computer (of course it works very well)
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 06:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 103
Default

hopefully i can get a few more fps from my 3850 :)
__________________
GA-965P-DS3 rev3.3 | C2D E6550 + TRUE | eVGA 9800GTX+ | Enermax Liberty 500W | Corsair PC2 800MHz 4x1024MB |CM RC-690 |WD 3200AAKS | W7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 08:43 PM
mchutch's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW Ontario
Posts: 433

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post

Third DON'T use nTune.

Agreed....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 07:06 AM
nige's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, On
Posts: 220

My System Specs

Default

i used the overdrive tab on my catalyst software to bump my 4850 up a little bit. I will make 1 change, then go play one of my games for a few hours to see if i can make the card trip up and crash the game. It takes a long time and i still haven't found the limit of the card. I like how they added a fan controller to the overdrive tab, so if you gpu starts to get a little warm, you can turn up the fan speed and cool it back down again. I haven't tried overclocking my cpu, but once i find the limit of the GPU, i will start to tinker with the cpu.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 - AMD 1090T B.E. - Palit 4850 - 4x2GB Muskin 6400 - PC P&C Quad 750w - 500G WD Black - 500G + 250G WD Caviar - Xonar D2 - Win7 - Antec Sonata - Z680
Macbook Pro 13" - Intel CD2 2.53ghz - 4GB DDR3 - OSX 10.6.1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes