Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 30, 2015, 11:20 PM
Rookie

Default Need some help with my case fans

Ok, so I built my system a little while ago, and it has been perfect. But I want a bit more control over noise and temperatures. Currently I have all my all my case fans plugged into my motherboard. They are all 3 pin, exept my cpu fan. And one case fan is plugged into the cpu opt header and it runs at full speed, with no option to slow it down. So, is there something I can do to have two fans connected onto one cable that plugs into the motherboard, which would not use the cpu opt header.

Also, is there any way that I can get the effects of a 4 pin fan, with only a 3 pin fan, through some kind of adapter or something?

Sorry if this is confusing, I am pretty new to this stuff.

Thanks!
Old January 31, 2015, 12:02 AM
Rookie

You can acquire a 'Y cable' which will split one connection into two connections. This will allow you to plug two fans into one header. I've yet to see one though that supports PWM, unless it was bundled with a Corsair closed loop cooler. Unfortunately, if you do not have PWM controlled fans, you cannot reap the benefits of a PWM controller. You may have to acquire a fan controller that uses resistors to reduce the voltage going to the fans. Not all fans support this. Some fans either run at full voltage or not at all.
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro | PSU: Corsair TX750v2 | MB: ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | CPU: Core i5 4670K @ 4.4 GHz | Cooling: Corsair H105 | RAM: 16GB Patriot Viper PC3-12800 | GFX: eVGA GTX 770 Reference | SND: Purity Sound 2 | SSD: Axiom Signature III 240GB | HDD's: WDC 1TB Blue & Hitachi 750GB
Old January 31, 2015, 08:31 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Lamptron FC9 5.25in Bay 4 Channel 50 Watts Per Channel Fan Controller 7 Colors LED - Black - FC-FC9-B(6900628401217)