Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 06:24 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Setting up MPC-HC

Hi guys,

I'm trying to find a decent guide to setup MPC-HC on my HTPC. I found one that uses Haali, LAV filters, and madVR, but the resulting player won't allow me to skip forward without massive slowdowns and system freezes.

Here's the guide: Media Player Classic Home Cinema (MPC-HC) and MadVR Setting | Juan2Geek

Keeping my HTPC specs in mind, which guide would you guys recommend? Or should I just use the stock MPC-HC as is?

Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 06:52 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Why bother just use XBMC :P
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 07:14 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

Any specific reason you aren't using the filters that come w/ MPC-HC? What kind of videos are you playing where you need to use these filters? Filters like MadVR are IMHO completely unnecessary. A person isn't going to notice the different between it and other filters. Haali isn't a great MKV splitter IMO either.

If you don't want to use the MPC-HC stock filters you might as well use LAV for splitter, audio, and video.

But like enaberif says, I'd personally just use XMBC. It can do everything these days.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 07:32 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, any decent guide/tutorial to setting up XBMC?
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 07:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

It really isn't hard to setup. Install XBMC. Go to videos, files, add source. Add your movie folder. Make sure you set it to movies as the source. Do the same thing for TV shows.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 09:17 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,373

My System Specs

Default

yes XBMC is the best I have used f\so far , you might need to do the tweak so thatyour remote controls green button loads up XBMC instead of windows media center other then that it is just like what has already been said.
I am almost debating on just using the XBMC linux but when I tried it in virtualbox it wouldn't load into the mediacenter but to the desktop , there probably is an easy tweak to fix that though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 01:21 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Wow yes XBMC is great! So much more user-friendly than MPC-HC. I'm still keeping MPC around though since it makes a great standalone video player.
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 02:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

I've been using the paid version of the android Universal Remote app for controlling XBMC, and have been pleased with the outcome. I believe there's a free XBMC remote but for some reason I preferred the Universal Remote.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 02:26 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

Constellation is probably the best XBMC remote for iOS or Android. For a windows 8 tablet / laptop XBMC Commander is a decent metro app for controlling XBMC.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 02:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Constellation is probably the best XBMC remote for iOS or Android. For a windows 8 tablet / laptop XBMC Commander is a decent metro app for controlling XBMC.
From what I can tell there is no Android version of Constellation.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a SSD pcmike Storage 5 December 23, 2012 08:15 AM
Ram setting issue help plz tigerzfan4life LinusTechTips Q&A 1 January 29, 2012 05:37 AM
Some help setting up? mikellini HardwareCanucks F@H Team 19 November 3, 2011 02:34 PM
Setting FAH martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 September 28, 2009 08:16 PM
little help setting up please marcons HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 April 17, 2009 11:56 AM