Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 07:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: virden mb
Posts: 17
Unhappy water cooling device

I need something that will shut down computer in case of water pump failure. There got to be something that does this job Can't afford to loose hardware because of pump failure , got to much money put in this box
__________________
intel 960@4560 mhz giga ex58 ud5p
g-skill 12gig 1600 @1736 8-8-8-20 1t 1.6v
swiftech gtz waterblock
dual serial 655 pump
240 feser/360feser rads
diamond 4870x2 ek fullcover block 38c idle
2.29 tb hds
dual pioneer dvd burners
25.5 asus lcd
mountain mod case
12x120 mm fans
corsair 1000w
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 08:03 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

If you are skilled enough or know someone who is then fabricating a little turbine(like the ones they use to generate power) that could be installed right after any pumps and power an LED might be good. That way even though you do not have your system shutting down you do have a warning when the LED goes out.
Alternatively, you could have that little generator keeping a relay open so that when the generator stopped the relay closed and it would run a little buzzer off one of the PSU's rails.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 08:50 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

How about just setting a maximum temperature shutoff in the bios ...?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 09:21 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

[jokingly]
Aww man, don't go all software on us, this is Hardware Canucks not software canucks.
[/jokingly]

Anyway, yea, Synth's suggestion would most likely be a better idea.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 11:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 153
Default

You mean this isn't Hardcore Canucks?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2008, 09:03 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

I agree with MacJunky. In fact I do the same thing. Trust me if by ANY chance your pump fails, the temperature will rise very fast and your bios will click in and shut down the system. Or, if your pump hooks directly to your motherboard like mine does you can set the bios to turn the system down if the rpms drop.

Hope it helps.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2008, 06:41 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chibi_man View Post
I agree with MacJunky. In fact I do the same thing.
I think you mean Synth there.
In the end I would most likely not feel entirely safe unless I had two pumps but that is just me. :P
I am thinking a custom WB with double inputs and outputs as well incase you are wondering. That way if one pump fails you still have water going through the WB instead of one non-full run or w/e section of your loop or the other.
Damn, I need some blocks of copper for some real tests. >_>

Last edited by MacJunky; April 13, 2008 at 07:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2008, 07:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Winterpeg, MB
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chibi_man View Post
Or, if your pump hooks directly to your motherboard like mine does you can set the bios to turn the system down if the rpms drop.
This is what I've done and probably you're best bet, if your your pump has a monitoring wire. You could program your BIOS to shut down if the temperature rises and/or the RPM drops to a certain level. If you want something in the form of hardware, take a look a frozenCPU's selection. I've dealt with them numerous times and while shipping is a killing, half the stock they have cannot be found anywhere else.
James

Last edited by James_8970; February 12, 2009 at 12:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 08:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I reccomend you not to use water cooling, but if you really have to then i would go for the BIOS thing, there is just one small problem , if there is a big leak, ur screwed.
The bios wont even get time to react,
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 08:32 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadgetman View Post
I reccomend you not to use water cooling

Wut? I recommend everyone use watercooling. Unless you are a big fan of heat and noise that is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes