Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 11:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Zealand (that 3rd world place)
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default How to not fry all your USB devices!

After plugging in all internal USB headers, unplug them and check that you didnt put on in a firewire (IE1394) port, unless you like the smell of electrical smoke.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2012, 11:52 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,909

My System Specs

Default

Recent personal experience?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2012, 03:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Zealand (that 3rd world place)
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

Too soon bro, too soon.
Mourning the death of my g110 keyboard along with numerous USB flash drives.
A friend of mine is mourning the loss of his phone and ipod though, many devices have been taken by this legacy jack.

I told that mobo who's boss and bent the f***ing pins, **** YEAH!

I was going to send the mobo back and then realised gigabyte did say it was 3x USB power, and then i checked my headers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 02:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 31
Default

Sorry to hear that man. It's so easy to make these mistakes and I'll keep it in mind but thanks for heads up.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 10:37 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W4ff1e View Post
I told that mobo who's boss and bent the f***ing pins, **** YEAH!
haha! that made my morning
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 11:33 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

yeah, all the gigabyte boards that I've used so far come with little plastic caps with the type of port written on it so you don't make this mistake.
also, this is why you should upgrade to USB 3.0, then it's damn near impossible to mix those 2 up.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2012, 05:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Zealand (that 3rd world place)
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

Yeah it had the cap on the 1394, If i realised what i was doing i obviously wouldnt have made the mistake, I was just reaching down under my soundcard and didnt think to check
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 09:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
Default

Haha, thanks for the tip =P Will keep in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2012, 12:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

i wont lie i am guilty of making these types of mistakes.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Devices not visible on network biff Networking 3 February 14, 2012 11:13 AM
Microsoft Talks Windows 8 on ARM Devices Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 9, 2012 03:53 PM
Mobile devices kirk_d Suggestions & Feedback 0 April 9, 2010 04:05 PM
Weird looking devices trodas O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 April 17, 2008 03:29 AM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 07:14 PM