Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 06:16 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Smile Dual monitor setup

XFX Radeon HD 7850 Double D 860MHZ 2GB 4.8GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI HDMI 2XMINIDP PCI-E Video Card - XFX - FX-785A-CDFC
This is the GPU im using just because it has 2 DVI ports


I Want to have 2 monitors using the Eyefinity Technology and my question is can I use the 2 DVI only or Do i have to do 1 Display port and 1 DVI.
A little bit confused about the 3 monitors being 1 monitor must be in a Display port. is it the same or,as i said, can i only use the 2 DVI.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 06:20 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

AFAIK you can use DVI now, but i would advise against using eyefinity with 2 monitors, any game you play the bezel will be right in your face.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 04:41 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

You would not want to run dual monitor eyefinity as your HUD or the main part of your screen will be cut off with bezels, making it hard to play (aka no sight if you're playing an FPS) and not very enjoyable. You can correct for bezels however it just feels off compared to single or 3 monitor gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 09:27 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

If 3 are used, do they all need to be the same?

I have 2 x 23" and one 24" all at 1920 x 1080 res ... will this work?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 12:10 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
If 3 are used, do they all need to be the same?

I have 2 x 23" and one 24" all at 1920 x 1080 res ... will this work?

Should be fine. Aspect ratio is the biggest factor, so if all monitors are 1080p you should be good to go. I would put the 24 incher as your middle monitor.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2012, 08:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
Default

You can use the three monitors you have. It's just it won't look so pretty XD
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2012, 11:31 AM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default

OP didn't really mention what size of the monitor so I'll add a bit here.

If you have monitors that display @ 1080p or lower then you can use 2x DVI. If your resolution is higher like Dell U2711 (can't remember the actual resolution) then you will need to use DisplayPort since one of the DVI port will most likely be a single link.

I found out the hard way.
__________________
Check out my SALE page
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
display port , dual , dual monitor , dvi , monitor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual monitor setup suggestions rawrjau Display Units 1 September 11, 2011 10:42 PM
Help! DUAL WAN router setup cmak Troubleshooting 10 April 16, 2011 11:13 PM
Dual Monitor Setup Spikemaul Display Units 2 February 15, 2010 09:37 PM
Dual video card setup phil3_66666 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 May 7, 2009 08:22 PM
[WTT] WTS/WTT Dual Monitor Setup Viewsonic Vx922 and Dell e2208wfp Malakei Buy/Sell & Trade 4 March 16, 2009 07:22 PM