Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 07:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Default Help: FN-button and the F-row!!!!

I'm not quite sure if this is the right forum but I had to ask.

Some computers (mostly laptops I think) have a "FN" button which wil change what some of the keys do while you hold down the FN button.

That's all nice and well, though some laptops has the entire F-button-row (F1, F2, F3 ... F10) set to something random like screen brightness and media controls as default so you'll need to hold down the FN-button to use the F-buttons. I'm sorry but what the heck is going on, why would you ever need to have instant acces to screen brightness instead of the F-keys?!

Now my question is if it in any way is possible to change this, leaving the F-function as default and the random screen brightness /media control/etc. as the FN-function in Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit?

I consider this one of if not the dumbest keyboard design. It removes the use ofthe F-keys and even makes gaming difficult. I hope you can help!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 04:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 3

My System Specs

Default

It can be done on some laptops but likely depends on the brand as to how it is done. I have an HP Envy that lets you switch the default settings of the function keys. Haven't used it in a while but it is perhaps a bios setting or a combination of CTRL+FN or ESC+FN. The exact process is in the user's manual somewhere. Check yours and see if your machine has that capability and how you go about changing the default setting. Post your machine brand and model and perhaps someone has one like it that can help you. Otherwise, search up your model on the internet and query for "changing default function keys" or something like that. If I can't find my owner's manual that's what I'll have to do when the time comes!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 12:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Default

As you predicted, that manual described how to do it in a few simple steps . I had to press F2 upon reboot to enter the bios and then enter the main menu and change the Function Key setting to "Function Keys" instead of "Special Keys" (believe that was what it was called). Thanks a lot! :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
delete your own thread button. kyle_L Suggestions & Feedback 6 April 9, 2012 07:22 PM
Windows 8 to have no start button. muse108dc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 February 6, 2012 05:19 PM
why can't I use middle mouse button in BF3 TedShackley Gaming 0 January 19, 2012 03:21 PM
Power Button Doesn't Work, but Power Button on Motherboard Does! Stock Troubleshooting 4 June 25, 2010 07:53 AM
sponsored deal, off button? Silvgearx Suggestions & Feedback 54 September 28, 2009 03:07 PM