Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 08:43 PM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default Need info on fan connectors

So i recently purchased my Fatal1ty Z68 Professional Gen3 mobo. i want more fans. i want to put on a 360 MM radiator and i currently am using a 240. i was curious as to if i could get the tachometer to read the fans if i use 3 pin y spliters. any programs. or a fan controller of some sort. Any info would help. Im trying to keep/ use as many fans as possible. thanks to anyone who can shed some light on my problem.

If your curious why i want more cooling. currently installed
Haf-x 942
i7 2600k 4.5 Ghz
Gtx 590 classified hydro copper
CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
8 gb kingston hyper x 1600 MHZ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 09:35 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

Hello, you would use one rpm sense wire from each bank of fans. So for the 360 one wire shows the speed of those 3 fans. They are all the same fan type so speed will be very close for all 3. You can not put 3 into 1 wire and get a reliable reading.
__________________
Laughing, Loving still Living
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2012, 09:59 PM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Toyoracer thats a good idea. i would like to see if its possible to monitor all the fans in my case even if i use a 3 pin splitter. it seems like i have enough room in the case to run a 360 MM on top with 3 120 mm while also keeping the single 200 mm on top as well. also could toss in another. i want to push my CPU to 5 Ghz but want to keep temps below 60 c i would like to push it as far as i can while keeping it as cool as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 06:55 AM
pellelu's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Candiac
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Hi! As long as you're using the same model of fans in a chain (Y splitter or daisy chain), you'll be able to monitor and adjust the fans speed. They'll all respond in the same manner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 07:45 AM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

so basically if i daisy chain a pair of Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Megaflow 200 R4-LUS-07AR-GP 200mm Red LED Case Fan i can monitor both?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 07:54 AM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

if thats the case it really would be great. i want my i7 2600k at 5.0 Ghz roughly. i also want it to last till after Ivy bridge since ivy isnt a real upgrade. my 590 hydro copper bearly touches 45C even under load. I at somepoint would like to Quad SLI unless the keplar are real upgrades over the current 500 series.thanks both of you for all the help. I'm just into pushing my PC while keeping it as cool as the other side of the pillow
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 07:57 AM
pellelu's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Candiac
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

The RPM will be the same for both. You'll see only one measure but it will be valid for both fans. I have lots of fans in my case and they all work in groups of three. I tried with different fans on the same group but it was obvious that they were not spinning at the same speed. Three identical fans on the same group : no problem...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 08:02 AM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

So you wont over volt the connectors on the Mobo. i got a 1200 w PSU which is way over what i need. but can the mobo connectors handle a fan setup like that. yours does but i just want to make sure i dont blow the connectors on my mobo
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 08:15 AM
pellelu's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Candiac
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

I'm using a fan controller that can handle 30 watts per channel. If you are plugging the fans on your MB, check the specs of the mobo and the power draw of your fans first. Make sure you're not asking too much from your MB. You can bypass this problem with a fan controller that monitors RPM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 08:21 AM
Warcrimes's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA (USA)
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

im using 4 stock fans 2 200mm side + top, 1 140 mm back,the front 230 mm and 2 120 mm ernmax for the 240 mm radiator top. i monitor it using the F stream tuning software that came with the mobo. got them all set to max
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sli connectors (help and win?) clshades Troubleshooting 18 December 11, 2011 06:10 PM
Seasonic SS-850HT connectors Dead Things Power Supplies 3 December 14, 2010 02:39 PM
4 fans.. 2 3 pin connectors.. what do I do? irtehleet CPU's and Motherboards 5 May 12, 2010 08:28 AM
PWM Y Connectors impruv Air Cooling 0 January 25, 2010 07:16 AM
Power Connectors tim333 New Builds 4 April 9, 2009 09:56 AM