Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 07:09 AM
Slappa's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 34
Default Phenom II IMC & Ram Overclocking Guide

Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum, however I'm pretty spread out on a number of other forums.

I'd like to share with you guys my Phenom II IMC & Ram Overclocking Guide. I have written this guide to cater to all Phenom II users wishing to overclock their ram properly. I have consolidated much common knowledge around the web and wrote a few of my own tips in. enjoy

Phenom II IMC & Ram Overclocking Guide ę Slappa's Blog

Thanks for looking!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 07:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

well sir, Welcome to our crazy corner of the web, and thanks for the link! I'll take a look into it for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 12:52 PM
Slappa's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
well sir, Welcome to our crazy corner of the web, and thanks for the link! I'll take a look into it for sure.
Heh, I realized that I'm from Calgary and I still hadn't been on a Canadian hardware forum until now.

Thanks for looking dude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 07:11 PM
DkRk's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VanCity, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

That's a very well-written and easy to understand guide! Great for both beginners and novices. I've got it bookmarked for when I aim to beef up my 955 some more in the near future.
__________________
Protect your chicken from Dokken.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 08:10 PM
Slappa's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DokkRokken View Post
That's a very well-written and easy to understand guide! Great for both beginners and novices. I've got it bookmarked for when I aim to beef up my 955 some more in the near future.
Thanks dude! Everyone loved my original AM3 Overclocking guide so I decided to move onto the ram and IMC aspects. Thanks for checking it out!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 09:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

looking good. so basically upping nb speed gives you a nice boost in performance right? :) lets look at some numbers vs stock nb.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 01:13 AM
Slappa's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
looking good. so basically upping nb speed gives you a nice boost in performance right? :) lets look at some numbers vs stock nb.
Yep. A lot of i7 vs Phenom II benchmarks are done with everything at stock. Phenom II really kicks up against i7 combined with a nice NB overclock paired with speedy ram.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 12:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,468

My System Specs

Default

I prefer to keep my Phenom at lower multiplier but increased FSB, this puts the ram at work too. I haven't really tested my new OCZ Reaper kit but given the thing has CL3 I guess should work fine at 1066. I guess there aren't too many Phenoms II out there still on DDR2?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 01:15 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 470
Default

Still on DDR2 here.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2011, 01:23 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
I prefer to keep my Phenom at lower multiplier but increased FSB, this puts the ram at work too. I haven't really tested my new OCZ Reaper kit but given the thing has CL3 I guess should work fine at 1066. I guess there aren't too many Phenoms II out there still on DDR2?
TBH I dont know why ppl only multi clock, I mean I can see it if you have a shitty board and ram but if you have even a half decent board and ram then why not? Sure it takes a little more time and effort finding the max values of motherboard, ram and making those numbers work with the max cpu clocks but for me that is overclocking.
Then again I am getting long in the tooht overclocking and that is how we used to have to do things before unlocked multi's .

And yes my 720 PII is still using ddr2 but it will be getting a retirement to the HTPC here in the next couple of weeks.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amd Phenom II IMC Magnetic CPU's and Motherboards 4 July 29, 2010 07:49 AM
Nvidia & ATI Catalyst Tweak Guide Gameplaywarrior Guides & How-to's 3 February 12, 2009 08:19 AM
Hardware Canucks: Benchmarkers Guide to the Phenom II Gav CPU's and Motherboards 9 January 16, 2009 05:09 AM
Intel Core i7 Overclocking Guide on NCIX Tech Tips Linus CPU's and Motherboards 6 November 22, 2008 03:55 PM