Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default First things you do when you start up a new build?

Well my build should be here tomorrow and its pre-built by NCIX. What do you suggest are the first things I do? I know some of you may preform certain tests on your computer to see if everythings functioning properly, also disabling some features in the OS to ensure maximum performance? Just small things like that, what do you guys do and think I should do to ensure I dont screw up?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:39 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,753

My System Specs

Default

Push power button.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:41 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,027

My System Specs

Default VIrrus protection

Dounload onto a USB stick or disk from someware like CNET Virus program and malware program with your present computer and get them on it first thing. What did you buy list us out a speck sheet. Image the OS with an imaging program to anouther disk or partition.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:58 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

for "P built" makes sure all the fans spin. then go to Ninite Easy PC Setup - Silent Unattended Install Multiple Programs At Once
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 06:59 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Crack open a beer and rejoice after it posts. lol
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2010, 07:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I got a Win7 32 bit .iso already on my bootable USB.

I got this:

GB P55-usb3 atx LGA1156
XFX 5770
i5 750
gskill 4gb core i5 1.5v mem kit
coolermaster storm sniper baby ;)
seagate 500 gb (i dont use alot of space :P)
corsair pro HX650W
g15 keyboard
random surge protector ;)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 12:52 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 850

My System Specs

Default

push the power button and cross finger....
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 05:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Default

You should jump in your bios and check your temps. Make sure air is flowing and the heatsink is mounted correctly. Then make sure all your stuff is being detected, ie: hdds, dvd drive, ram, cpu. Then set your boot priority and get on with the os install.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 05:10 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Crack open a beer and rejoice after it posts. lol

mmm.......beer
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2010, 07:06 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 628

My System Specs

Default

Haha, nice two month revival fenix.

I read about this site Ninite Easy PC Setup - Silent Unattended Install Multiple Programs At Once in another forum. I dunno how it works exactly... but I plan on giving a try on my next reformat/build. Also, it's always a good idea to let your computer run for at least a few hours to let the thermal paste set before OCing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with new build start up - HELP!!!! tap77377 Troubleshooting 11 April 19, 2010 06:19 PM
Things to do When You Build a New Computer crispex New Builds 19 March 31, 2009 01:35 AM
New Build - Will Not Start - Help! Modestyle Troubleshooting 14 March 12, 2009 08:01 PM
New Build, won't start shryke Troubleshooting 17 October 23, 2008 03:42 PM
New build wont start at all Psycho-Designs Troubleshooting 19 April 14, 2008 01:08 PM