Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 10:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default How to set up 4 SSD's ?

I am building a new system soon for school and was wondering if anyone could list the steps I will need to do to install these. I have put 2 comps together before but never SSD's or raid

I am getting this mobo here Newegg.com - ASUS P6T7 WS Supercomputer "Ultimate Gamer" choose 3Way SLI + PhysX at Real X16 X58 CEB Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

and 4 of these Newegg.com - OCZ Agility Series OCZSSD2-1AGT60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - SSD

I want 1 to be for OS(win7) another by itself and 2 in a raid 0
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:11 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,950

My System Specs

Default

It is really easy. In the bios you need to set your SATA ports to RAID. Then when it prompts the RAID bios on boot, hit the keys used to enter it (usually CTRL+I). Then select the drives you want to add to the RAID. Select 128k as your stripe size. Then just install your OS.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I don't need to do aligning or any of that stuff I kept reading about for the SSD's ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:30 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poponfu View Post
I am building a new system soon for school and was wondering if anyone could list the steps I will need to do to install these. I have put 2 comps together before but never SSD's or raid

I am getting this mobo here Newegg.com - ASUS P6T7 WS Supercomputer "Ultimate Gamer" choose 3Way SLI + PhysX at Real X16 X58 CEB Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

That's quite the "school" computer.... I would almost guess that's overkill for a spreadsheet or word document
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:31 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,950

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poponfu View Post
I don't need to do aligning or any of that stuff I kept reading about for the SSD's ?
You only need to do partition alignment w/ Windows XP.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Yes I am going a bit crazy with it. http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/Pu...umber=12464665


Oh I did not know that lowfat , thank you .. I hope it goes as easy as you make it sound D:
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 12:25 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Who the hell is paying for it? I'm guessing you aren't.....

Have you built a computer before? Not to be insulting but I'm guessing you haven't. Maybe I'm wrong.

I don't see a video card in that list, either...

And what the hell are you doing with that system?

Last edited by Perineum; March 20, 2010 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 12:31 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poponfu View Post
Yes I am going a bit crazy with it. Newegg.com - Once You Know, You Newegg


Oh I did not know that lowfat , thank you .. I hope it goes as easy as you make it sound D:
1. BFG PSU? I would go for a Corsair HX850. Don't think you need 1200w either....
2. All that in an Xclio case.... well I suggest at least a CM 690II but preferably something like a Silverstone RV02.
3. Wouldn't getting 3 Intel X-25M's be better? I don't think you want SSD's in RAID anyways, you lose TRIM....
4. RAM seems awfully cheap.
5. Is an i7 980X REALLY needed? An i7 930 should be plenty....
6. What GPU's?
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 12:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

No I am paying for it... with loans and yes I have built 2 before. Its for rendering / video editing

Is it really bad to raid them ? I will have a look at those you mentioned instead I just remember they were more expensive

I went with cheap ram cause I had to cut somewhere.. but really wanted 24 gigs for video editing epically.

The GPUs is what I am waiting for , I want to get one of the gtx 480's due out in a few days

Last edited by Poponfu; March 20, 2010 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 01:35 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

no it's fine to raid them i would still do some tweaks and that's just me. Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how does this look for a set up. kyle_L Water Cooling 8 December 19, 2009 04:53 PM
[WTB] I7 Set-up Chromey Buy/Sell & Trade 5 October 20, 2009 06:35 AM
2.1 set Josef Audio 5 June 26, 2009 05:31 AM
Help on Raid set-up Malam Storage 4 December 9, 2008 01:13 AM
sata set up Rapid-X Storage 2 September 2, 2007 08:24 PM