Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 03:05 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poponfu View Post
Yes I am going a bit crazy with it. Newegg.com - Once You Know, You Newegg


Oh I did not know that lowfat , thank you .. I hope it goes as easy as you make it sound D:
A BIT crazy he says!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 06:15 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default 6 GB 164$

PC Cyber Canada - For All Your Computer Needs Good Ram Good price 164.99 x 4
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 07:38 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
PC Cyber Canada - For All Your Computer Needs Good Ram Good price 164.99 x 4
Tell me what motherboard has 12 slots? and the sticks of ram he chose are 4GB each.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 07:53 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poponfu View Post
No I am paying for it... with loans and yes I have built 2 before. Its for rendering / video editing

Is it really bad to raid them ? I will have a look at those you mentioned instead I just remember they were more expensive

I went with cheap ram cause I had to cut somewhere.. but really wanted 24 gigs for video editing epically.

The GPUs is what I am waiting for , I want to get one of the gtx 480's due out in a few days
Ah, the rendering helps it all makes sense.

If you've got the SSD's, why would you bother with a raptor after that? Wouldn't you want a 1.5 or 2.0tb drive?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 10:28 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

if your doing some hard core rendering. and looking at the cost of a single i980x wouldn't you get better performance out of a dual proc board and some lower priced xeons. instead of of a desktop chip.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 10:29 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default MY bad

Caught ME

Edit: 2X this Newegg.com - Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model 998776 - Desktop Memory
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY

Last edited by ZZLEE; March 20, 2010 at 10:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 09:29 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Perineum I have a raptor in there for high'ish speed storeage but also a 1tb external for really storing things.

I probably would lcdguy but I bet that is a whole different can of worms. I am also hoping for big gains in time from CUDA processing on the gtx 480. Taking some of the pressure off my CPU during that. My setup now my card supported it but mobo never did.

Yikes ZZLEE you found it ! Thats what I was originally looking at.. 1550 almost for 24 gigs :( Thats why I went with 24 gigs of the valueram for 900
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 09:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 68
Default

I would say get rid of the velociraptor. the old velociraptors are pretty much outdated in terms of storage and speed. the new ones are better, but speed wise, are not in the same class as the SSD. The Current 1 or 2 TB drives from western digital or seagate are pretty close to as fast as the raptor. I would replace the velociraptor with a TB drive for sure.

If you will be doing lots of video editing, you are going to be using a lot of storage space. so you should probably get some 1TB drives for you primary storage. I dont see any on the wishlist you posted, so I'm recommending them.

I would also agree with previous posters in saying that the 980X is very overkill. way too much money for the performance. you could easily get 70-80% of that performance for 1/3 of the price with a 920 or 930 and overclocking.

just my 2 cents
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 05:37 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

last post march 21... pretty safe to say this is a dead thread.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2010, 10:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
last post march 21... pretty safe to say this is a dead thread.
lol, didnt even notice...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how does this look for a set up. kyle_L Water Cooling 8 December 19, 2009 04:53 PM
[WTB] I7 Set-up Chromey Buy/Sell & Trade 5 October 20, 2009 06:35 AM
2.1 set Josef Audio 5 June 26, 2009 05:31 AM
Help on Raid set-up Malam Storage 4 December 9, 2008 01:13 AM
sata set up Rapid-X Storage 2 September 2, 2007 08:24 PM