Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 10:20 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,580
Default How To: Turn your Laing DDC 3.1/ MCP 350 into a Lain DDC 3.2/ MCP 355

Okay everyone, this is my first "How To" thread, and I truly think this could be beneficial to some people I am not 100% sure if this, or something similar has been posted, but I looked, searched and found nothing.

I would like people to note that I am not a water cooling guru, or expert, but would like to think that I do know a thing or two about water cooling - thanks to this forum, and many others. I am writing this at the best of my ability and knowledge! Please correct me if any mistakes are made.

On a second note, this mod was done to the (newer) pumps which fetchers a blue impeller!


The Laing DDC 3.2 A.K.A [Swiftech] MCP-355 is known as one of the best basic pumps around when combined with an aftermarket/ third-party top. The favourite top would be the one from XSPC, which can be seen here: XSPC - Performance PC Cooling (If you want the best pump around, go get a Iwaki RD-30. Careful though, the RD-30 has caused tubing to swell!)

At the cost of flow, the DDC 3.2/ MCP-355 has superior head pressure to the Laing D5/ MCP-655. Head pressure is something we want in the water cooling world. Head pressure is going to determine how far your water will flow, most notably, in a vertical state. If one has no pressure, their water simply isnít going anywhere. You want head-pressure!


The Mod

ATTENTION: Neither I nor your pumps manufacturer can be held responsible for damages which are caused my this modification. By removing any screws, covers, etc. you act at your own risk, and will void all warranty.

This is my Swiftech Apogee Drive. This is a CPU Water Block with a built in DDC 3.1. Note that this is the exact same pump that is seen on the stand alone DDC 3.1s.
STEP ONE: Remove the screws on the top of your pump. In this picture they are already removed. (The two smaller holes with "1"s beside them are not important.)


You will notice it looks a lot more like the DDC 3.1 with the mounting unit, and Swiftech badge removed The stand alone pump will not have a badge on it.
STEP TWO: With all the screws removed, remove the top from the pump - it should almost fall off with the screws removed. The next step is to press on the center piece that has eight (8) little circles on it. Two more pieces should separate.

You should have one piece that looks like this -


At the top-left of the PCB board, you will see four wires that are soldered on. This is where the mod starts.

A closer look -




STEP THREE: Now you are going to solder the very first section (the wire that is not sleeved/ colored) to that little gold/ brass square beside it. Make sure to get solder on the bare wire itself, AND NOT TO GET SOLDER ON AN OTHER CONNECTER! I.E. DON'T LET THE SOLDER GET ONTO WHERE THE BLUE, YELLOW, AND BLACK WIRES ARE!!!


Another View -



These are the tools that I used. A basic soldering iron, and some solder (duh)




This is how mine turned out... There is a lot more than needed (I fail at soldering )


And with that your mod is complete!

DDC 3.1 impeller speed: aprx. 3900RPM
DDC 3.1 modded/ DDC 3.2 impeller speed: aprx. 4500RPM
The above was the concluding test of this mod done by WiNDycj. Those where the numbers that he posted via Everest Home Edition. The RPM sensor of the pump was connected to the CPU fan on the motherboard. Please note that I do plan on providing my own test results!
__________________
DEAD CA$H

Last edited by AmuseMe; January 18, 2010 at 06:43 PM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 10:21 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,580
Default

[This Space Is Reserved]
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 06:46 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

would a pencil mod work?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 03:40 AM
cozmosland's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 232
Default

and the results are :P
better hurry before i finish mine and post up first :P
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2010, 02:08 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmosland View Post
and the results are :P
better hurry before i finish mine and post up first :P
Oh yea, I forogot about this!

Anywho, the mod is done, actually, the whole thing take like five minutes.

Pictures and the conclusion will be up tonight.
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 01:39 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

holy soldering job



no offense bro :)
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2010, 07:59 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
holy soldering job



no offense bro :)
I know - its terrible! I want to redo it, but it works fine. I was about to sneeze half way through and lost concentration lol... All is well though
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 08:55 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i bought mcp350... (no choice)

so i opened it and notice that pcb is little different... but its still 3.1 and blue impeller..

something like this



so i wonder can i connect the black line (ground) to empty one?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mount Laing ddc Chaltharr Water Cooling 0 January 29, 2010 08:03 PM
[WTB] XSPC Laing DDC Reservoir Top AmuseMe Buy/Sell & Trade 0 December 25, 2009 05:55 PM
[WTB] MCP-350/355 Soultribunal Buy/Sell & Trade 10 December 25, 2009 10:35 AM
[WTB] XSPC res top + DDC 355 rai_polo Buy/Sell & Trade 16 November 4, 2009 05:40 AM
looking for XSPC Laing DDC cryptospartan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 25, 2008 08:33 PM