Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 06:00 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,612
Default How To: Install DX11 on Windows Vista

Well Guys, I can't take credit for this one but I can tell you that it works like a charm.

Many of you probably know that Vista is only due for some DX11 lovin' with the release of the upcoming Service Pack 3. However, there is a way to upgrade it before SP3 comes around.

Below is a complete guide from Tom's Hardware showing you how to update your Windows Vista installations with the DX11 API.

Enjoy!

Upgrade Vista to DX11 - Tom's Hardware
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 06:26 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

I ran xp with dx10 everyone still says it can't be done and yes you can see the difference
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 06:34 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,612
Default

The issue was that there was no official DX10 XP since XP just didn't carry the all features necessary for DX10. However, DX11 is officially fully compatible with Vista and DX10 so this won't be a band-aid solution; you'll get all the DX11 benefits and features.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 10:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I think this deserves some stickiness!
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 02:15 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

This is good to know since I have absolutely no plans on going to 7 on my current machine since I am part of the minority that has never had issues with Vista and still love Vista as well.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 02:52 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,756

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
This is good to know since I have absolutely no plans on going to 7 on my current machine since I am part of the minority that has never had issues with Vista and still love Vista as well.
Glad to have someone else not bitching about Vista. Worked fine for me with the only issue being with my sound card driver and Ventrilo. I did however switch to 7 when I set up my RAID0 though. Basically all I found is a different interface.
But, for those who are happy like b1lk1, I guess this is good news if you want to empty your wallet for a 5 series card
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2009, 02:58 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

LOL doing it now as it seems.

er wouldn't just downloading the SDK be easier...
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2009, 04:22 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
LOL doing it now as it seems.

er wouldn't just downloading the SDK be easier...
Guess not...
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 04:16 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

TweakGuides.com says the real deal has been released today for slappin' DX11 into Vista.

Quote: "Microsoft has released non-critical updates for Windows which you can get through Windows Update. Alternatively you can view and download them individually from here - click the 'Released' column header once to sort by date. Note that these updates include the Platform Update which backports a range of Windows 7 features such as DirectX 11 to Windows Vista."

Now, nowhere on this page do I see "DirectX 11" and I can't test it either since I have Windows 7.
Maybe someone can confirm this?
Description of the Platform Update for Windows Server 2008 and the Platform Update for Windows Vista
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 04:39 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

I want a hardware software hack for my 4870x2 ( since I can't sell it for what I want ) with DX11 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed Windows 7 Install lanken123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 October 17, 2009 08:50 PM
Can't get windows to install AmuseMe Troubleshooting 29 September 12, 2009 01:20 PM
DX11 on Vista? Airshehan O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 August 26, 2009 09:35 PM
Formatting. Install Windows XP or Windows 7 geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 July 7, 2009 02:32 PM
Changing mobo, do I have to re-install Windows? francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 9 July 12, 2007 02:10 PM