Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 15, 2009, 05:12 PM
Rookie

Question Paypal, EMT, shed some light please.

Hey guys, I've been eying a few things in the for sale section so I am going to need some help with a few things.

Details first, I'm a student, have a TD bank checking and savings accounts. All of my money is currently in the checking account. Also have a TD credit card which I prefer not to use.

1. Interac Email Money Transfer is EMT right, and it seems pretty straightforward, is it only domestic or can it also be sent to the US?

2. Getting paypal, I'm assuming the personal account is better since most sellers want non CC accounts? How do you register paypal with your checking account? Do people do that? Also can someone explain these fees to me?

Quote:
Free when the money comes from PayPal balance or bank account.

2.9% + $0.30 USD
when the money comes from a debit or credit card or PayPal Credit
(the sender decides who pays this fee).
- source

Whats the difference between paypal balance/bank account and debit? Wouldn't that money come from exactly the same account?

3. What is the best way to pay with paypal for goods coming from the US, lets say someone is asking for $100USD for a HD4870, is it best to pay with 115CAD or 100USD, and should it be paid for service, or goods or whatever the other options are?

Thanks a lot for taking the time to help a fellow canuck out
Old July 15, 2009, 05:59 PM
F@H

My System Specs

1. I think you can only do it within Canada. Though I don't really know for sure.