Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 10:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default OC Noob needs formula

Hi all! I recently tried to overclock my new I7-920 using a formula from another site. Unfortunately, I failed to notice that this fellow was using a faster ram than I had. His was 1600 and mine is 1333. I knew 4.3 was too fast as I'm using air cooling so I tried to keep the voltage a little lower to compensate. Big mistake! I just got my computer back with a new processor and I still want to try to push it to a reasonable level that will be stable 24/7. I'm running the stock fans it came with and added two overhead one directly on the ram and the other on the processor. Not only is my 'puter running much cooler, my feet are freezing!.....LOL!! I've perused a few websites similar to HC, but none seem to have the wisdom and common sense this site consistently exhibits. So Guru's, has anyone here taken their I7-920 to next level without poaching their processor. If so, could you give me the benefit of your experience?

Thx in advance

Windows Vista Home Premium (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 6001) OEM OEM OEM
System Serial Number: OEM
Enclosure Type: Desktop
Processor a Main Circuit Board b 2.65 gigahertz Intel Core i7 920
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
32 kilobyte secondary memory cache
1024 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
Board: EVGA 132-BL-E758 Tylersburg
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG 12/10/2008
Drives Memory Modules c,d 1000.20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
756.75 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223F ATA Device [CD-ROM drive]

WDC WD1001FALS-00J7B0 ATA Device [Hard drive] (1000.20 GB) -- drive 0
12280 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot 'A0' has 2048 MB
Slot 'A1' has 2048 MB
Slot 'A2' has 2048 MB
Slot 'A3' has 2048 MB
Slot 'A4' has 2048 MB
Slot 'A5' has 2048 MB
Local Drive Volumes


c: (NTFS on drive 0) 1000.20 GB 756.75 GB free
__________________
Intel I7 920 Quad Core
EVGA X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
12GB DDR3-1333
Diamond Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB GDDR5
Samsung Syncmaster T240
Coolermaster CM 690 Mid Tower
Corsair TX 750W
Seagate Barracuda 7200 1TB 32MB Cache
Vista 64 Home Premium
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 11:32 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default

What are ur system specs? What motherboard? what cooler are u using? Or is it stock cooling?

Details details ! :)
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 05:01 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

details are need. just out of curiosity you say that you just got it back what does that mean did you screw something up. you just said lower voltage then your friend and then followed that was a big mistake what was ( only ask cause it is really hard to mess things up with todays bios's )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 06:09 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

Generally someone else's settings might not work for you, especially when you have such a large amount of RAM. You can use another person's settings as a guideline but you will likely still have to play around with it to get stable.

Off topic: What's with all the RAM? Are you doing video editting or running VMs or something?
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 06:37 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

canadarox is 100% right on that. and 12 gb is a lot harder to overclock not a fact just what i have been hearing around mags and on line. still need those specs if you want anyone to help you
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 07:08 AM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

It says "EVGA 132-BL-E758" so I'd assume that is his motherboard, which is this one: Amazon.com: EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1 X58 3-Way SLI Core i7 Motherboard with Tri-Channel DDR3 and Tuning Utility: Electronics (Google FTW!)
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 08:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I am using stock cooling with 2 additional top fans. My MB is EVGA X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3. As for my ram it is GSkill at 1333Mz and I know 12G is overkill but I got it at the same price as 6 and as I don't have another I7, I just put it all in, never thinking too much ram would ever be detrimental. As for the processor giving up the ghost, it was probably faulty to start with because as I think back time to post was getting incrementaly longer each time I booted my computer, in fact when I took my computer in to NCIX I was in the mindset that it was my MB.
__________________
Intel I7 920 Quad Core
EVGA X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
12GB DDR3-1333
Diamond Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB GDDR5
Samsung Syncmaster T240
Coolermaster CM 690 Mid Tower
Corsair TX 750W
Seagate Barracuda 7200 1TB 32MB Cache
Vista 64 Home Premium
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 08:28 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

well i can tell you your not going to get very far with stock cooling on an i7 ( i am hoping someone with this board will help you. I just have not even seen evga x58 bios so)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] I am a noob and i need some help :D eltiti55555 Buy/Sell & Trade 16 March 9, 2009 02:02 PM
Noob question... shayan288 RAM 1 January 8, 2009 04:13 PM
Noob here, trying to get my first WC setup together. jaszypoo Water Cooling 13 December 11, 2008 07:25 PM
FS: Rampage Formula and Striker II Formula MINT! Nademon Buy/Sell & Trade 24 November 25, 2008 12:43 AM
Folding Noob :/ kruzn4evr HardwareCanucks F@H Team 31 October 16, 2008 11:15 AM