Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2009, 08:24 PM
Bubbzilla's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EDMONTON AB!!
Posts: 178
Default How do i update my bios?

I have an old P3 machine that I just got working. The mobo is the AOpen MX34. Im not really sure what the BIOS on it or how to check it. I don't want to mess it up... I have no harddrive yet but i have a CD Drive, Network Card, and Sound Card. Please help...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2009, 08:45 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

If it's working, there is no reason to update the bios. Leave it be, it's tired.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 06:46 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

I went to the site found a bunch of stuff but if you wanted to update the cmos you'd need more info.
You can do all that.
If you don't want to mess it up what you typed leave...it alone.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 07:22 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

WARNING if not done a successful flash MB is DOA

just can't stop/back out of flash renders prom blank

flash from floppy in DOS use correct flasher and file and have reliable power source

who bios ami/award? can take a pic of boot screen....hit pause/break key to read

current version is R.19 bio date 1/26/2003 DieHard BIOS Lite supported
R1.18 10/21/2002 Supports EzRestore
R1.17 2/8/2002 best to have this version
R1.15 10/9/2001
R1.14 4/6/2001
R1.12 12/18/2000
R1.09 11/28/2000
R1.04 8/18/2000
R1.02 6/20/2000
R1.005/10/2000 Initial Release

check what version in lower left corner of screen

go here an read the fixes aopen D/L Selection: Motherboards>>MX34>>BIOS
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 05:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Halifax Nova Scotia
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Best advice is " If it ain't broke Don't Fix it "
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 02:52 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

I go by " If it ain't broke then you did not hit it hard enough". LOL!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 09:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,422

My System Specs

Default

If it doesn't fit, force it. If it breaks, it was never any freaking good in the first place!!! :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 10:24 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Flashing the BIOS is fairly routine, however, even I "hold me breath" as if its not successful, the only option other than getting a new BIOS chip and installing on your Board is to RMA the Board.
Likely best to leave well enough alone, I only Flash my BIOS if my system is acting "funky" and a potential new BIOS version can alleviate the problem.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 05:24 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker
Flashing the BIOS is fairly routine, however, even I "hold me breath" as if its not successful, the only option other than getting a new BIOS chip and installing on your Board is to RMA the Board.
Likely best to leave well enough alone, I only Flash my BIOS if my system is acting "funky" and a potential new BIOS version can alleviate the problem.
no RMA here i'd hot flash with an extra chip if bio chip is socketed as a back-up chip encase something happeneds
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA X58 New Bios Update will Support 1600MHZ RAMS without Overclocking? appplejack Rumor Mill 2 December 9, 2008 10:58 PM
MSI releases BIOS update for the Wind that lets you OC! Mr. Friendly Mobile Computing 3 October 26, 2008 08:26 PM
How do you update your BIOS? Gameplaywarrior CPU's and Motherboards 10 October 12, 2008 09:20 AM
Updating BIOS on GA-EP45-DS3L failed, how to access back up BIOS? Kayen Troubleshooting 5 August 7, 2008 06:31 PM
Update the Bios first thing? Corpus Masochist CPU's and Motherboards 1 October 1, 2007 07:29 PM