Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 06:43 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default Desoldering a part from a motherboard

Well the power jack from wife's laptop is dead so I purchased a new one. I don't have a lot of experience soldering so any tips would be welcome. At the moment I'm practicing on an old dead mobo. I have managed to solder pretty decent but am lacking i the desoldering department. I have read that desoldering braid used with flux will work. Any experienced solderer's?
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:17 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default specific tool for this

Vacuum Desoldering Tool - RadioShack.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:59 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I was able to get the power jack off of my daughter's dell laptop without issue using solder braid with a little flux on it, it worked pretty good... It worked best for me by heating the braid lots before pressing it to the part.
I hope it works out for ya
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 03:33 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Personally, I find that vacuum desoldering pumps can be a little flakey, and their recoil isn't always welcome around more delicate circuits. For braid, I find it's best to put the braid between the iron and the target, and let the copper conduct the heat directly into the solder that you're trying to melt. The desoldering that I've done hasn't required any flux, tbh. When you're putting a new component on, on the other hand...
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 03:37 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I put the flux on the braid.. To tell you the truth I didn't try it without it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 06:23 PM
mklym's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 239
Default

If your soldering tip/iron is clean and properly tinned, then all the flux you need is on the tip already. Clean and re-tin often. Properly tinned, you should need no more than a second or two to absorb the old solder. Excessive heat can ruin a multi-layer PCB, like a motherboard. Same as when you go to solder in the new jack. With a properly cleaned and tinned tip, put the tip on the point where the PCB and the jack lead meet, then apply solder to the tip, moving to the lead in one motion. One or two seconds and you should be done one connection. Do the same for the rest. And use small diameter, flux core electronics solder (yes, it makes a difference).

Good luck. :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 06:40 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

+1 for desoldering braid and flux.If you don't have braid , you can use some stranded 14Ga wire too......

Those desoldering vacuum jobbies only work on 1940's PCB's.....big wires in big holes.

gl !
__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 03:52 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default re

Thanks for the input guys, it's much appreciated Might practice some more this weekend to build my confidence lol.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:04 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post
+1 for desoldering braid and flux.If you don't have braid , you can use some stranded 14Ga wire too......

Those desoldering vacuum jobbies only work on 1940's PCB's.....big wires in big holes.

gl !
they work ok, I find yo gotta trim the tips a bit so you can jam them right in there is all.

course I now have a $2000 solder/desolder station at work now so....
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2009, 04:21 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainEater View Post

Those desoldering vacuum jobbies only work on 1940's PCB's.....big wires in big holes.

gl !
Which is pretty much what a power jack on a laptop is.

I actually prefer this to the crappy RS pump, although I still stick with my trusty Soldapult at work for big stuff, braid is better for fine work and SMT. Make sure you get(have) a decent wattage iron, modern systems have some pretty substantial power planes that require some decent wattage to work with.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvd trouble part 2 t0m Storage 16 March 11, 2009 05:42 PM
[FS] Partial Part-Out jetOne Buy/Sell & Trade 11 December 27, 2008 11:35 AM
Odd part requirement Exmortis Cases 0 December 3, 2008 07:37 PM
Upgrade Part II Phaddie New Builds 45 November 4, 2008 04:18 PM
OCZ part #OCZ2G8002GK ebdoradz RAM 3 June 3, 2007 06:49 AM