Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Guides & How-to's

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 02:57 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default Crimp tools!

Anyone know if this crimp tool will work for what we need it for on computers?

The Source By Circuit City : Miscellaneous Tools - PHONE INSTALLATION TOOL
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 03:20 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,350

My System Specs

Default

I can't really tell from the picture on the CC site. Personally I use this style which I believe is the most common.

Name:  Crimp.jpg
Views: 663
Size:  35.4 KB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 03:27 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper View Post
Anyone know if this crimp tool will work for what we need it for on computers?

The Source By Circuit City : Miscellaneous Tools - PHONE INSTALLATION TOOL
also by "on computers" do you mean RJ-45? or the pins in a molex connector or????


and yeah, its hard tot ell from the picture...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 03:40 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,410

My System Specs

Default

The description says nothing about crimping RJ-45, which is what I am assuming you want. If thats the case, this is what you want:
The Source By Circuit City : Crimping Tools - 3-IN-1 CRIMPING TOOL WITH RATCHET FUNCTION
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 03:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

+1 on Gav's suggestion.

And for the love of [deity] don't buy from The Source. I bought mine at NCIX for under $20.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 03:53 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
also by "on computers" do you mean RJ-45? or the pins in a molex connector or????


and yeah, its hard tot ell from the picture...
Yes pins & molex connectors my bad sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 03:54 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_hawk View Post
+1 on Gav's suggestion.

And for the love of [deity] don't buy from The Source. I bought mine at NCIX for under $20.
pssssst $15 at the source LOCAL no shipping waiting ect.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 03:56 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

it MIGHT be right for molex, its is really hard to tell from pictures.

My Tyco crimp tool for that type was over 100 bones, so its hard to say...

if you want a good connection you have to get a ratcheting kind, if you dont really care then just use whatever and add a dab of solder to each one, not too much though as it makes the wires stiff and brittle...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 04:07 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
it MIGHT be right for molex, its is really hard to tell from pictures.

My Tyco crimp tool for that type was over 100 bones, so its hard to say...

if you want a good connection you have to get a ratcheting kind, if you dont really care then just use whatever and add a dab of solder to each one, not too much though as it makes the wires stiff and brittle...
Yeah Langer uses the ratchet type plus adds a dab of solder to he mentioned elsewhere. I'd get the ratchet type but for how much i'm going to use them getting them shipped in from the US just really isn't worth it imo.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 04:30 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

I have heard that the only reason NOT to add the solder is if it is in a high vibration/flex application, due to the solder being stiff and brittle.

but yeah, i got mine for work, for home I used needle nose pliers and swear words.
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking tools of the trade 3.0charlie Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 58 January 12, 2014 12:20 PM
what tools do I need to cut some holes? Shadowmeph Water Cooling 2 January 4, 2009 04:53 PM
Component Boxes/Tools arekieh Off Topic 10 November 16, 2008 06:02 PM
Overclocking/Benchmark Tools CasheKicker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 March 20, 2008 01:35 PM
Not Quite Modding - Tools Related Drew Cases 2 September 30, 2007 09:27 AM