Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:43 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default Random Lag

Hey all, I was playing Counter Strike: Source, and then sometimes, it would just lag. That only happens in rare occasions, but its getting really annoying. Same with Mass Effect. Would the drivers for my 4870 be doing this? I'm using the drivers that were on the disc that came with the card. And would it help to know if I bought this card about 3 weeks ago?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:45 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

I don't know if the drivers would be the culprit, but I would upgrade to the Cat 8.8 set. The disk that came with my VisionTek had Cat 8.6 and 8.7 was out. Some folks say stay on top of the drivers, others stay with what works. It is up to you, but I like to read the driver update and decide for myself if I should upgrade them or not.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:49 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Infiniti, I gotta ask. What happened to your E8400? Also, just wondering what your load temps are like on your 4870?
__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 06:44 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterlarry View Post
Infiniti, I gotta ask. What happened to your E8400? Also, just wondering what your load temps are like on your 4870?
Umm, I was testing my E6750 with my current WC setup, and then I figured that the temps weren't that bad, so I put the E8400 back. When I tried to boot up my computer, it would act like there was nothing in the CPU socket, so then probably my E8400 was dead. And my temps on my 4870 are not bad.. I set the fan speed to 50% when I'm gaming too, so I'm pretty sure thats not the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 06:54 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Does it happen only on a specific server or all servers. Could also be a firewall/antivirus issue. If it is only on a specific server , do a trace route to check for issues.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 07:20 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

It happens in all servers.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 09:53 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Is your ping spiking at all? Still do trace route and see if you are getting a lot of time outs.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 10:01 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I doubt the lag has anything to do with my internet or anything because this happens in Mass Effect too.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 03:31 PM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Mass Effect isn't an online game oh didn't know that....well I guess it must be something else. If it were only on internet games lag can be a result of a lot of things , your hardware, software/something running in background, bad hops in your trace route also modem problems(usually powercycling your modem can solve this one provided it's not dieing) If it was happening in single player games then look at overheating or driver problems even possibly an antivirus acting up(unlikely but possible) Good luck...hope you find out the cause.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2008, 03:51 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,047
Default

Turn off Vertical Sync and make sure the refresh rate in game matches your desktop's.

See, if you have it at a mismatch it causes lag spikes. Turning on Vertical Sync is ok but it will produce lag spikes in most games if you run a mismatched refresh rate.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes