Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 09:08 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default sata networking?

can i make a lan network using a sata connection for me and my gaming buddies?
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 09:37 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andynerd View Post
can i make a lan network using a sata connection for me and my gaming buddies?

Not that i know of... at least not with some time of supporting hardware that will facilitate the link. (have you googled the idea).. but what is wrong with just using a router & networking?
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2008, 11:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Parents Basement
Posts: 44
Default

s-ata is not used for networking purposes.
there is no device like a network card that you can buy to use this type of cable to connect 2 computers.

you want Category 5e cable
__________________
AMD Phenom II 940 @ 3.0Ghz | OCZ Vendetta II | Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H 790GX/SB750 | 2x2gig Musking Redlines 5-5-5-18-24 T2 | XFX 8800GT XT 512MB @ 702/1023 | WD Raptor 36,74gig | OCZ GameXtreme 850w | Cooler Master Cosmos 1000 | Samsung Syncmaster 2443BW | Logitec x530 5.1 | Windows 7 Home Pre.64-bit


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2008, 12:13 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

SATA is an end to end packet based network so this could be done. People did make networking drivers for SCSI systems and Firewire and USB networking devices are commonly available. I think you could do it with normal cables and cards that support port replicators which some built in hardware on mainboards do. However, you would have to write your own drivers.

While this might be an interesting intellectual hobby it would be a lot of work for very little value. SATA has only a short cable length and a small amount of replication. Gigabit Ethernet is vastly superiour in all ways except for a theoretical speed cap.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2008, 12:24 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

thank you for your answers i will stick with gigalan
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes