Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2008, 03:47 AM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satsumomo View Post
Handling the cars with the keyboard will be IMPOSSIBLE :(
While I wish I could disagree with you, after playing the game on PS3 I would probably say your right, tight turning is just retarded, even with a controller. But, I guess after work we can really find out how hard it is, I believe the PS3 takes a USB keyboard and mouse!
__________________
Seriously people, I am not a mod. Stop messaging me D:


Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2008, 08:15 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,904
Default

After playing every GTA on the pc, the keyboard is my friend..it would be strange playing it on the xbox though :)
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2008, 09:27 AM
Satsumomo's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
After playing every GTA on the pc, the keyboard is my friend..it would be strange playing it on the xbox though :)
I know what you mean, the thing is that the driving in GTA4 has been heavily modified, it's waaaay more sensitive and realistic. You have to be very gentle on the brakes, since the tires lock up very easily, and when this happens you just slide straight into a wall, just like in RBR or GTR.

I guess it'll be the first time I ever buy a controller for my PC!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2008, 02:13 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by llama_egg View Post
But, I guess after work we can really find out how hard it is, I believe the PS3 takes a USB keyboard and mouse!
Well... yes, but the game itself has to support it and last I checked UT3 was pretty much the only game with mouse/keyboard support(I might be wrong though). We have GTA IV for PS3 here and as far as I know it does not support a mouse or keyboard but just to be sure I am going to go check in a couple min for you.

*Edit
Yea, they work in the PS3's menus but not at all in-game and the controller sections of GTA's menu shows no indication of a keyboard present.

Last edited by MacJunky; August 9, 2008 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2008, 02:38 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satsumomo View Post
I know what you mean, the thing is that the driving in GTA4 has been heavily modified, it's waaaay more sensitive and realistic. You have to be very gentle on the brakes, since the tires lock up very easily, and when this happens you just slide straight into a wall, just like in RBR or GTR.

I guess it'll be the first time I ever buy a controller for my PC!


Even more fun if its realistic..and I don't need a controller..I purely rock
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2008, 03:23 PM
Satsumomo's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Yup, I love the new handling. A lot of people complain, but well, we all know a whole lot of people would rather play Ridge Racer than GTR2.
__________________
Looking for a really cheap (Or free!) pci-e videocard! Whatever state, just in working order, or even just loan it to me. I just need to test out my new hardware. PM me please, I'm located in Downtown, Vancouver.
Need testing:
Biostar Tpower I45
Intel E8400
4GB GSkill 8500CL5D
Seagate 500GB 32mb Cache HDD
2 x Corsair TX750W
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 06:13 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,904
Default

RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS


OS: Windows XP SP2
Processor: Dual core processor (Intel Pentium D or better)
RAM: 2GB
Hard Drive: 18GB free hard disk space
Video Card: 512MB Direct3D 10 compatible video card or Direct3D 9 card compatible with Shader
Drive: DVD-ROM dual-layer drive

http://www.addict3d.org/news/451674/...to+IV%5D+.html
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2008, 07:57 AM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

Hmm, those look fairly hefty compared to what I was expecting. Hopefully it will look as good if not better than the console versions.

Ouch 20 gig install? This Vraptor might not last much longer =(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes