Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2008, 10:09 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto area.
Posts: 170
Default

I have been playing for a week now, I have a level 25 assassin on the deathwisper pvp server. I am impressed with the game so far, but there is some works that needs to be done on the client it seems, random FPS drops, texture glitches, video options re-enabling them selves etc.
__________________
Q6600@3.2ghz
Asus P5N32-E Sli
4gb OCZ Platinum DDR2 @1100mhz
Antec P180
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
Corsair HX-620
Thermaltake Power Express 250W
Raptor150, WD 500gb. WD 300GB
X-Fi Extreme Music
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2008, 11:14 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Really? I've experienced 0 issues so far on a single 3870 and cat 8.5, are you using SLI or CF?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2008, 11:31 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,749
Default

Mine runs pretty smooth too. I need some people to play with! When you are on Eldonko, let me know. I am only level 5 and still stuck in the first city....I'm so new to mmorpg.....and rpg in general, going to need some hardcore training!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2008, 12:34 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Might be on later on tonight, what is your play time usually?

I found a good way to learn is make 1 toon and level up to 10 or so, the make another and go back and do it again. It is much faster once you know what you are doing. Not that I really know what I am talking about at lev 14 haha. Once you get to 10 you can go and group and such or continue to solo if you want. In the inn you can switch from single quests to multi quests.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2008, 01:38 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,749
Default

what's a toon...hahaha. So n00b... I usually play around 8PM (PST) till 12.... cause I work 10-7. Not sure if I will be on tonight though, it is a beer and wings night!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2008, 02:03 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Cool, that is about the same timeframe as me. Toon is mmorpg geek speak for character.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2008, 02:29 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,749
Default

heh, cool. PM me with your Vent info?
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 12:37 AM
fadingstarlight's Avatar
Trial Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
I picked it up yesterday. First impression was negative because it took 6 hours to get it fully installed and patched. After downloading gigs of updates I tried to run the game it it just hangs so I ran that verifier prog and it determined I had 2GB more of "corrupt" files. Few more hours of DL and I was GTG.

Anyway, once I got it up and running I was happy with the first 10 levels. I really like the combat, it is nice to actually be fighting unlike other mmorpg where you just click auto attack and a few spells. Makes you pay attention and not just mouse click all day. Swords through the heart and chopping off heads and stuff is cool too.

Graphics are decent, and what is nice is it is optimized for multi core and new gen GPUs.

If anyone is playing, post your server and char names.

what is the verifier thing you were talking about?? I have been trying to get this game to work for me and it just is making me crazy. I downloaded it, patched it and now i click to run it and the first page pops up talking about server maintaince etc.. and then once it's all up to date i click on PLAY and nothing seems to happen.
I have the proper specs and everything on my comp to run this but it just won't work. I cringe at having to uninstal and reinstall and maybe by some divine miracle it will work... i just don't want to waste like about 5 hours getting it on my comp. :help:
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 05:51 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,779
Default

Does anyone know if this game has a timedemo feature hidden in the console?
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2008, 07:31 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto area.
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Does anyone know if this game has a timedemo feature hidden in the console?
Not that I have read about. I would think there would be too many variables for a time demo to be of any use though, namely server lag and latency.
__________________
Q6600@3.2ghz
Asus P5N32-E Sli
4gb OCZ Platinum DDR2 @1100mhz
Antec P180
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
Corsair HX-620
Thermaltake Power Express 250W
Raptor150, WD 500gb. WD 300GB
X-Fi Extreme Music
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes