Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #281 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2017, 07:52 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 613 Ontario
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Has anyone gotten a Sol System permit in ED? I know I need my reputation with the Federation high enough, but how high? I'm doing Federation REP+++ missions exclusively, and I'm only seeing my rep with then increase by 1% after each mission. Am I missing something?
edit: my rep is currently at Cordial with them.

Last edited by On2wheels; September 12, 2017 at 09:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #282 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2017, 08:32 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,482

My System Specs

Default

I don't have one. I have always found it challenging to get rep increasing at a good rate. I have switched and tend to focus on doing missions in single or neighboring systems now and that certainly allowed me to get better missions with a given faction quicker, but still taking me a long time. Maybe that is by design? I also don't dump all my gaming time into Elite so my timeline is likely longer than more dedicated players.

Perhaps someone can enlighten us both?
Reply With Quote
  #283 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2017, 02:06 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 482

My System Specs

Default

PLayed a bit of ED in VR. It is pretty awesome, but a bit vomit inducing on planet surfaces.
__________________
486
Fractal Design R5 + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus X299 TUF Mark 2 + Intel i7-7800X + G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 8GB x 4
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + HGST 5400RPM 2TB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #284 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2017, 05:09 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 613 Ontario
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

Speaking of vomit inducing, I recommend anyone who plays go to the planet Mitterand Hollow, it's a well known planet and I only found out last weekend. Here's my screenshot
Reply With Quote
  #285 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2017, 10:51 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,482

My System Specs

Default

Nice shot :)
Reply With Quote
  #286 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2017, 11:45 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 482

My System Specs

Default

Just go to Adity system. Start getting surface scan and data delivery missions in between Aditi & Synuefe. Your rep with Empire will go thru the roof and soon you will be getting a mil per surface scan mission. Now, I am taking 3-4 missions at around mil each at PEW to scan the planet with Dolgov Point on it. That comes down to 6-8 mil/hour grind rate. You are free to proceed, Commander!
__________________
486
Fractal Design R5 + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus X299 TUF Mark 2 + Intel i7-7800X + G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 8GB x 4
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + HGST 5400RPM 2TB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #287 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2017, 05:03 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,482

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 486 View Post
Just go to Adity system. Start getting surface scan and data delivery missions in between Aditi & Synuefe. Your rep with Empire will go thru the roof and soon you will be getting a mil per surface scan mission. Now, I am taking 3-4 missions at around mil each at PEW to scan the planet with Dolgov Point on it. That comes down to 6-8 mil/hour grind rate. You are free to proceed, Commander!
That's a good tip 486. I might give that a look. On2wheels would just have to find something similar for Feds as I think you need Fed rep to get to Sol?

I would like to give that a try though. I always watch these videos or read things about mission runs that result in high credits/hr but they never seem to work for me! I don't want to just grind for money but it would be nice not to always feel like a poverty stricken Cmdr scuttling around from job to job! I have spent a fair bit on my Asp and Vulture though. A Python would be nice!
Reply With Quote
  #288 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2017, 10:09 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 369

My System Specs

Default

I think I need to get back into this game, its been quite some time since I last played, and now I have a Rift too.

Maybe I should buy the Season Pass.
__________________
Did you try turning it off and on again?
Reply With Quote
  #289 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2017, 11:33 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,482

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wedge22 View Post
I think I need to get back into this game, its been quite some time since I last played, and now I have a Rift too.

Maybe I should buy the Season Pass.
I'll admit that Star Citizen and the run up to their alpha 3.0 release is getting more of my mental energy these days but I still enjoy Elite Dangerous and play it fairly regularly. It has a permanent spot on my gaming drive. It is a very good game IMO, different and not for everyone, that I can easily admit, but I like it.
Reply With Quote
  #290 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2017, 07:07 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 613 Ontario
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

I will try that scanning trick, but first I have to clean my hostile status, I get attacked now when I enter a base to drop off a passenger, they are not wanted, at least not from the mission details. But I do have some fines to pay in certain systems in my transaction log, not sure how to clear that all up, is that why I'm attacked?. Have lost the same ship twice to base defenses this way.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is that noise dangerous? bliz Video Cards 12 October 28, 2012 10:13 AM
MicroBytes Armed and Dangerous Llew Canadian LAN Parties & Events 98 May 18, 2011 11:16 AM
Dram voltage 1.79 dangerous? Chris RAM 5 June 25, 2009 10:34 PM
Do I have any recourse for a dangerous trek into work? Cheator Off Topic 30 December 10, 2008 03:00 PM
ASUS MyLogo -- dangerous? CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 October 4, 2008 07:40 PM