Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2008, 02:11 PM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default ps2 emulator

does anyone know if theres a good workin ps2 emulator out there. ive tried a cpl but no go. ive seen the bios on torrent for it but not to sure. anyone know of one?
__________________
http://www.twitch.tv/blo0dxsh0t
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2008, 02:27 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

Is the emulator not working, or you just can't find a working BIOS?

I've been eager to try one out as well. I found a site earlier but never had the time to try it. As always, the BIOS is never included due to legality issues. I'll see if I can dig up the link when I get home.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2008, 03:05 PM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

No there isn't.

You should buy a PS2, it's quite cheap nowadays.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2008, 03:21 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

That is no help for PS2 games on "the go" though.(like portables and stuff)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2008, 04:19 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

never buy consoles. It's just an overpriced DRM device. I've been playing PS1 emulated games for years. You just have to be patient and wait for someone to build an emulator, and someone always does. It's just a matter of time.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2008, 04:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
never buy consoles. It's just an overpriced DRM device. I've been playing PS1 emulated games for years. You just have to be patient and wait for someone to build an emulator, and someone always does. It's just a matter of time.
The ps2 emulation has been tried for at good 5 years now and nothing has worked well enough for people to bother.

Just go buy a ps2.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 06:23 AM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

don't need to buy one i have one lol just coulda got more games with an emulator lol...what about the ps1 emulator is that one any good
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 08:29 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
never buy consoles. It's just an overpriced DRM device. I've been playing PS1 emulated games for years. You just have to be patient and wait for someone to build an emulator, and someone always does. It's just a matter of time.
That would be illegal.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 09:34 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
That would be illegal.
Emulators aren't, unnathorised access to games or system BIOS's are.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 10:03 AM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

Emulators themselves shouldn't be illegal, just like mp3 players aren't. However, downloading non-freeware games you don't own and playing them using emulators is illegal.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes