Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 09:59 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Seems alright so far.....does anyone know if there is a Frame Rate Cap on this game...as in 62 FPS ? I've tried Google to find out but got nowhere.

The reason I ask is doesnt matter whether I run all Max Settings with FXAA vs TXAA X4 or MSAA x8, always get a Max FPS of 62....yes VS is off both in game and forced off in nvcp....something seems odd, Frame Rate Cap would explain it..
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; November 21, 2013 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 10:24 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Actually... it's not that bad...The ingame vsync was just destroying my FPS in some areas ,disabled it and got like +15-20 FPS --' Even if i didn't have a 30 FPS cap like some people,i have a cap but it's 62 FPS
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 10:29 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ So anyone figure out how to get rid of the 62 FPS Cap? I have done this before in the game registry, but not sure with this one. I dont need more Frames at all, but like to see how the system compares when using Max Settings + FXAA vs Max Settings + TXAA x 4 etc..

EDIT: Okay so under "Users/My Documents/Assassins Creed I found the .cfg Config File (open with Notepad)...
There is no setting for Framerates, only "Refresh Rate=60" and "Displayable refreshrate Rate=60" .....I wonder if changing to "60" to a higher number within "Displayeable Refresh Rate=200" would do the trick?
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; November 21, 2013 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 10:47 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

I don't know... but i noticed something that i absolutely HATE, when you are at 48 FPS for example, the game will lock the framerate at 40 for a few secs with vsync enabled, that's why their vsync destroys the FPS, they have a sort of console-ish smoother that destroys your framerate....


So yeah... also the same problem with nvidia vsync... I guess the game detects any kind of vsync or something,idk but anyway, i'll play it with no vsync at all, minimal tearing because of 120hz so it's ok but i don't know what the heck is going on with this game...


Ok i tried with D3Doverrider and it works perfect, i have my extra 15 FPS and no tearing whatsoever, pretty nice!

and no,i have the refresh rate set to 120 in this config file and still locked a 62 FPS^^

Last edited by bliz; November 21, 2013 at 11:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 12:38 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Huh...perhaps there is no way to go above 62 FPS ever ?!
I get smooth gameplay using nvcp Adaptive VS and Triple Buffering...no tearing and smooth, but always locked at 62 FPS....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 12:51 PM
FtGF's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 410

My System Specs

Default

When you use adaptive vsync do you also enable vsync in-game or leave it off? Can't seem to get it to work.
__________________
Fight the Good Fight


Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 01:11 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Leave Vertical Synch "in game" off....nvcp setting should over ride this anyways...for me best gameplay is all Max 2560 x 1440p TXAA X4 .....in nvcp Adaptive VS and Triple Buffering.....but any setting is locked at Max 62 FPS.....huh...ported console....graphics are "okay" but not "stunning" imho...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2013, 01:26 PM
FtGF's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 410

My System Specs

Default

Thank you good sir!
__________________
Fight the Good Fight


Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2013, 08:29 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I was getting crashes until I turned AA down from 4xmsaa to 2x. No more crashing. This is the single player hit of the season. I am so loving it. ARRRRRRRR!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2013, 10:47 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 467

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I was getting crashes until I turned AA down from 4xmsaa to 2x. No more crashing. This is the single player hit of the season. I am so loving it. ARRRRRRRR!
I have always loved this series...and this game is going to beat ac brotherhood for my #1 spot..i spend HOURS and HOURS just doing the side missions and collecting stuff...its a very large game....something i will give HUGE...IRON-E to ...In the first assassins creed, if you fell into water you died.......now look at us...


Cheers all, Hope everyone enjoys it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assassins creed 3 save game muse108dc Gaming 1 December 23, 2012 09:39 AM
Assassins creed 3 gaming voucher Skozaa Gaming 6 December 16, 2012 11:16 AM
The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings misterlarry Gaming 211 October 19, 2012 07:38 PM
Assassins Creed II Jonwall Gaming 11 November 17, 2009 11:15 PM