Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2013, 11:47 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default WTF? can a computer even do that?

So,i was launching planetside 2,and as soon as it started loading the game, the computer SHUT itself DOWN,but not really actually.

my monitor and all the fans in my case turned OFF BUT as soon as i pressed the start button again,the computer turn on without booting,instant screen,with all the browser pages like i left em... all this was like if i turned off and back on a monitor,but with power that went off in the computer -__-

hope you understand,this is kinda WTF...I never had problems with planetside 2...

If you know anything about that computer state,tell me please
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2013, 02:31 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,009

My System Specs

Default

I have no idea what happened, but it sounds like it went to sleep for some reason. I can't picture it actually being a shutdown due to an issue, because that would have resulted in a full restart. I will let more experienced people go from there.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2013, 06:19 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 989
Default

I don't claim to be an expert but I've seen mine do similar things out of the blue. It freaks me out too, I chalk it up to many possibilities (listed in the order of what I believe is their likelihood): the o/s needing a refresh install, a flaky driver/piece of hardware, static electricity near the motherboard, unstable power supply.

I've actually had a stray chunk of house wiring fall into my open PC case and sit on the motherboard. Didn't do any permanent damage but prevented it from booting for a few hours until I found it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2013, 07:39 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default

Yeah,that's really freaking me out! But i really think it's related to planetside 2 because i had an error message web page from them after it crashed,but it works fine now
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2013, 10:25 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliz View Post
my monitor and all the fans in my case turned OFF BUT as soon as i pressed the start button again,the computer turn on without booting,instant screen,with all the browser pages like i left em...
Seems very similar to a computer going to sleep, waking up.
Power goes out when it goes to sleep.
And when it wakes up, everything that was on the screen is still on the screen.

Do you have a sleep button on your keyboard that you may have pressed inadvertently.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2013, 10:33 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

sounds alot like what happens when a computer hibernates. it saves all your open programs and windows and you start where you left off.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2013, 01:31 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default

Not the same thing really, the computer crashed and the fans turned off immediately,hibernation takes way more time. All this happened in half a second and the screen didn't go black smoothly but instantly,also,i didn't have my hands on the keyboard so i didn't hit a media key. I put my computer on sleep mode every day and i can tell you it was different. Planetside 2 gave me a hardware compatibility error... nvidia beta driver bug??????????
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2013, 03:10 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

Planetside 2 skydive/cloud linked we have control over you
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2013, 06:31 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 989
Default

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2013, 08:53 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default

lolz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water spill near computer, computer still works fine? ChacePoint Troubleshooting 11 August 5, 2013 08:40 AM
Should I buy this computer? shawnpaul00 CPU's and Motherboards 13 March 29, 2012 01:12 PM
My next computer Mick363 New Builds 24 March 1, 2010 10:58 AM
NEw Computer Crysisfan11 New Builds 35 May 21, 2009 08:15 PM
FS: computer elninio Buy/Sell & Trade 14 November 22, 2008 04:50 PM