Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 02:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Question SC2 install question

Hi ! I'm about to get Starcraft2 Wings of Liberty and the extension Heart of the Swarm.
Some of my friends had issues when installing.
As i understood, there are 3 steps :
-Installing the game
-Installing the extension
-Create an account/register with battlenet.

In which order should i do this, or what's the best way to do it correctly ?

I know it could seems like a trivial question, but since lot of my friends told me they had issues, i figured i should ask you guys !

Thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 02:18 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Battlenet first. Then enter your keys and it will download.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 02:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

So i should go to the battlenet website before even installing anything ? right ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 03:00 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Correct. Create an account and enter the keys in the games section and it will give you a download link to the installer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 03:47 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,301

My System Specs

Default

It really doesn't matter the order you do so. You can create your battle.net account while installing the game..... that is assuming you have a physical copy of the game. Otherwise you will have to create your account first.
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 04:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,222

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabz0r545 View Post
It really doesn't matter the order you do so. You can create your battle.net account while installing the game..... that is assuming you have a physical copy of the game. Otherwise you will have to create your account first.
If you create your account first you'll get the most recent download / version.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 04:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

well i have the cd copy of the game. Knowing that, should i create the account first, or install the game ?
And, does HotS run "inside" WoL ? Or is it considered like a different program/game ?
Sorry to insist but i really wanna do it well, and avoid fuckin'it up !
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 04:42 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Create an account and pop in your cd keys and download the game, HotS is an expansion and has its own exe I believe.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 06:11 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Create an account and pop in your cd keys and download the game, HotS is an expansion and has its own exe I believe.
Same EXE for me.

HotS is considered a "mod" so there's only a couple files for it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 06:14 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Ah, well I don't play SC2 so that was just speculation.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
heart , install , starcraft , swarm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
an other ssd/win7 install/clone question Patramix Storage 9 April 12, 2010 05:43 PM
os won't install Zodgrod Troubleshooting 20 May 11, 2009 06:26 AM
Install Vista on Partition Question futbol94 Storage 7 April 13, 2009 06:32 PM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM
Question about initial 1333 FSB support and inital Windows install with evga 680i Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 23, 2007 11:11 PM