Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 07:58 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bostonkikiki View Post
well i have the cd copy of the game. Knowing that, should i create the account first, or install the game ?
And, does HotS run "inside" WoL ? Or is it considered like a different program/game ?
Sorry to insist but i really wanna do it well, and avoid fuckin'it up !
It really doesn't matter man. There is no fuckin it up don't worry you are overthinking this way too much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If you create your account first you'll get the most recent download / version.
That may be so but either way he will have to download all the files one way or another either as patch or as the updated client.

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Create an account and pop in your cd keys and download the game, HotS is an expansion and has its own exe I believe.
They both use the same client. You can chose which version you want to play from the gameplay options.
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 07:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

So i went with the CD installation... So now, how can i be sure i've got the latest version ? Does the game automatically update itself, or should i go to the blizzard website to download the latest ?
Also i heard something about new SCVs and i can't find anything related to that on the internet... I suspect an april fool but anyway...
Thank you guys for helping me !
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 07:08 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

Just run it... the launcher will automatically patch it if needed.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 07:29 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

Well you were right, after i finished installing the game, it automatically proposed me to update with the latest patches, and God it is long !!!
The installation was about 15min, and now the update is taking forever ! (download speed around 500Kb/sec)
And this is just for WoL i suppose, i'm gonna have to go threw* all this again with HotS... :(
Anyway, if it works, it will be great !

PS : [is "threw*" spelled correctly in this case ? from France!)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 09:22 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,929

My System Specs

Default

It'll update both HoTS and WoL at the same time. Like I said, it's the same game, HoTS just has extra mod files to support the new units/maps.

Even if you only owned WoL, it still downloads HoTS I believe, and simply unlocks the files once you put the key into your Blizzard account. The assumption is everyone will buy HoTS as you cannot play with your friends that have it.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 05:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

all right thank you guys for the feedback !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
heart , install , starcraft , swarm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
an other ssd/win7 install/clone question Patramix Storage 9 April 12, 2010 05:43 PM
os won't install Zodgrod Troubleshooting 20 May 11, 2009 06:26 AM
Install Vista on Partition Question futbol94 Storage 7 April 13, 2009 06:32 PM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM
Question about initial 1333 FSB support and inital Windows install with evga 680i Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 23, 2007 11:11 PM