Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 09:12 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,454

My System Specs

Default Amazon Yanks SimCity Download

Well, I didn't want to continue derailing? the Sim City 5 thread. So I'll post this here. Link

I sincerly hope this wakes EA the F(#$ up.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; March 7, 2013 at 09:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 09:24 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,610
Default

and to think this all could have been avoided but having an offline component.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 09:31 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Those idiots will never wake up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 09:38 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,454

My System Specs

Default

Poor Maxis.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 09:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

The issue is not with the game.. its simply with the fact they grossly underestimated server needs upon launch time and got bit in the ass.. hard! Its been 2 days now and I still have issues connecting and even when I was the game would disconnect while IN game.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 09:50 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,454

My System Specs

Default

Indeed. And it all comes back to the requirement to be online 24/7 with it. Get rid of the draconian requirement and problem solved. It isn't Maxis' fault (the game). It is EA's fault (the shame).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 10:04 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
Indeed. And it all comes back to the requirement to be online 24/7 with it. Get rid of the draconian requirement and problem solved. It isn't Maxis' fault (the game). It is EA's fault (the shame).
I don't think it's possible. If you look at how the game is designed, it's a multiplayer online game. There's no way in hell you can play by yourself offline because you need the other players in the region to interact with in order to make your city grow.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 10:40 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
I don't think it's possible. If you look at how the game is designed, it's a multiplayer online game. There's no way in hell you can play by yourself offline because you need the other players in the region to interact with in order to make your city grow.
It's not at all hard to envision a single player only version of this game, and it's very apparent that there's demand.

Furthermore, it is a classic series that players have been enjoying single player for almost 25 years. The omission of an offline single player mode is an absurdity obviously driven by EA execs.

I think it may even be likely that a majority of Simcity players over the years use cheats to have fun building cities. The actual gameplay has never really been the focus.

It's probably only a matter of time before there's a server emulator that enables true offline play.

CliffyB can go give EA analysts a bj after sucking himself. I'd love to see EA die and its IP auctioned off.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 05:35 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,454

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desiato View Post
Furthermore, it is a classic series that players have been enjoying single player for almost 25 years. The omission of an offline single player mode is an absurdity obviously driven by EA execs.
Bingo! But I assume that everyone that bought into this tripe was well aware of the fact? So I guess I can't feel too sorry for them. I hope those that supported EA's little romp into cronyland have learned something as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2013, 05:42 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

I think an offline component is possible. Just allow the regions to run like they did in SimCity 4. Allow the player to jump between individual cities in a region on-the-fly and problem solved. That was actually only of my best memories of SimCity 4.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shipment coming from Amazon.ca norfolk Off Topic 1 November 21, 2012 01:14 PM
What's wrong with Amazon.ca and/or UPS? appplejack Off Topic 6 August 16, 2012 04:55 AM
Anyone preordered Dragon Age 2 from Amazon.ca? sakage.shinga Gaming 2 March 7, 2011 04:24 PM
New Amazon patent Inik Off Topic 0 December 30, 2010 05:29 AM
explain what is amazon dot com? hohohee Off Topic 26 October 11, 2009 02:51 PM