Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 08:41 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Is there some technical explanation why cut scenes lag when the game itself does not?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 08:44 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Maybe it is just a video and not in engine? Then it is all cpu trying to decode the frames?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 08:48 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I think it's just plain video, usually in a .bik file, whatever the hell that is. Either way I'd think a i5 2500K/i7 2600K should be able to decode the frames just fine, especially when OC'd to 4.5ghz?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:22 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Some of the cut scenes are actually rendered and not video files. The video files played fine, and obviously looked sub-par.

It seemed to go away after the first couple levels too, so not really sure what was going on.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:31 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

It is a pretty game but I thought it was short as hell! I probably should have played through as vet rather then the normal setting. I still haven't finished COD MW900321 yet.... oh wait..... yea that's cuz I grew tired of it and its horrible game play..
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:39 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodystumps View Post
It is a pretty game but I thought it was short as hell! I probably should have played through as vet rather then the normal setting. I still haven't finished COD MW900321 yet.... oh wait..... yea that's cuz I grew tired of it and its horrible game play..
I played on Hardened, it was difficult at times for sure. Definitely had to use some of the suit abilities or else it was constant death. It's still a very short game regardless though since it's a linear game.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:47 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,659
Default

Ironically, I only used three suit upgrades through the entire game: faster health regeneration, better armor and increased speed. Past that, everything else was pointless. I could stay in fights longer and then haul ass like no one's business if things got out of hand.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 07:19 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

I kinda liked the increased hacking skill as well. It cut down on the BS mini games which - lets be honest - were BORING.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2013, 01:34 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

I played everything in post human warrior.No problem at all,bow pawaaaaaaaaaaa....Almost never died
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2013, 04:24 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Playing now. I like it. Combat is cool and the game is pretty. Playing on 2560*1400 very high settings with motion blur off and shaders down to high. FXAA, I don't have enough vram to use msaa. Getting 60-80 fps on my 590 hydrocopper.

I'm watching my hardware monitors in my g19 lcd screen and during cut scenes, one core goes to 100% and the gpu usage drops to %50. So the cut scenes are poorly threaded and cpu bound.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Amazing i0S 6 Maps! Canker iPhone & iPods 5 September 27, 2012 10:06 AM
Amazing video... encorp Off Topic 17 April 19, 2010 07:38 AM
OT- Amazing Findas jcmaz Off Topic 3 June 19, 2009 08:51 AM
crysis vs. crysis warhead shayan288 Gaming 2 January 7, 2009 10:18 AM
For Sale: $20 Crysis Warhead Digital Rights w/Crysis 1 CD Key arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 6, 2008 08:20 PM