Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 11:30 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default Connecting to Steam servers

Trying to connect to Steam after not using it for ages but it will not let me. I am on power line networking, will that be a problem? I will go try my lappy on wireless to see if it can connect but it is not really gaming capable. Any tips?

*edit* cannot connect with lappy either............
__________________
heatware

Last edited by stoanee; January 17, 2013 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 12:07 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

So... What happens when you try logging in? Error messge? Have you tried just logging in through a web browser?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 01:30 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

If it has been several months, you will need to input a PIN number.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 01:38 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
If it has been several months, you will need to input a PIN number.
Bingo! At first it would not connect at all but I was finally sent a pin #. Now to polish up what are sure to be rusty reflexes...
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 01:39 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
If it has been several months, you will need to input a PIN number.
Yuppers, they will send an Email to the addy you linked with a number to re-initialize the account.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2013, 01:43 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Yuppers, they will send an Email to the addy you linked with a number to re-initialize the account.

-ST

I blame folding for my inactivity....
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2013, 04:16 PM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,010
Default

I think I'm having that issue someone posted months ago: booting off SSD is too fast for the LAN driver to engage, so Steam can't connect on the first try. Was it resolved, and how?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 08:07 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
I think I'm having that issue someone posted months ago: booting off SSD is too fast for the LAN driver to engage, so Steam can't connect on the first try. Was it resolved, and how?
I have the same thing. I don't know of a solution other than to move the primary Steam boot files back to the HDD.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 09:19 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,113

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by On2wheels View Post
I think I'm having that issue someone posted months ago: booting off SSD is too fast for the LAN driver to engage, so Steam can't connect on the first try. Was it resolved, and how?
I use Startup Delayer to delay Steam from starting for 15 seconds after boot.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2013, 12:37 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Or make the steam service (if it is one) have a dependency on the network or whatever, but I forget how to do that right now....

edit: here it is:

Quote:
1.Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es and locate the service that you need to set a dependency for.
2.Open the 'DependOnService' key on the right side. If the selected service does not have a 'DependOnService' key, then create one by right-clicking and selecting New > Multi-String Value.
3.In the value field, enter the names of all services that the current service will depend on. Each service name must be entered properly and on a separate line.
4.Click OK, close your registry and restart your machine.
Or...

Try doing the following and see how you get on:

  1. Open the appropriate Group Policy object for the computer or computers on which you want to implement the change.
  2. In the left pane, click to expand the following items:
    • Computer Configuration
    • Administrative Templates
    • System
    • Logon
  3. Double-click the Always wait for the network at computer startup and logon setting.
  4. Click Enable, and then click OK.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Multiple PWM Fans BMAN69 Water Cooling 7 March 28, 2011 07:08 PM
Connecting 2 Computer over Crossover Lavitz Networking 12 November 8, 2009 05:57 PM
connecting 2 networks Phobia Networking 4 March 3, 2009 09:23 PM
Connecting BFG 8800GT OC to HDTV? hujintao Video Cards 3 May 21, 2008 08:21 AM
Connecting PC to a HDTV. werty316 Display Units 3 April 7, 2008 06:22 PM