Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 01:33 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Can preorder this game using GMG25-S0FSG-R7Z9B at GMG for $37.50
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2013, 03:40 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

sweet deal
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2013, 07:17 PM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Replaying 2033 before Last Light is released. Last Light looks like graphically it will be very immersive, looking forward to the release.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2013, 09:25 PM
RBA RBA is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belleville Ont
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Anyone playing Last Light? What are your opinions on graphics for the game. Unfortunately i won't be playing for a little while? Thought's? Feedback with out spoilers?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2013, 05:06 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

Ok, from what I could tell with the built in benchmark it thoroughly trounces my 580 SLI setup at 2560x1440. I will have to see but I think to be able to play it I would have to turn it down to low quality or turn down the resolution.

Arrrrgggggg, now I really want to get the 780 when it comes out!!


Ok did a bit more testing and found out that there is one setting that really tanks the fps, enabling the advanced physX.

2560x1440
PhysX off


PhysX on
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."



Last edited by ipaine; May 15, 2013 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2013, 07:40 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default

Played it,not a GREAT game,a good game,but,the hard mode(ranger if i renember) is HARD ok? REALLY HARD. I have around 30-5 ratio on online FPS and tried around 25 times,at a part when you have enemy monsters that rush into you... the rest of the game is not very hard,just play stealth.


Graphics are amazing,tomb raider style graphics but the lighting effects look crysis 3,so it looks really good.

And,and it's badly optimizied,even with new nvidia drivers,it's kind of terrible.Have to put graphics on medium,but it still looks OK!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2013, 03:53 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Honestly I thought it was a great game, and my dual 580s smashed the game at full graphics at 2550x1440 so not sure what you guys are talking about. Definitely some inspiration taking from Orson Scott Cards Enders game though in my opinion. Graphics were great, much better then the first, smooth, everything seems to meld well without any oddities, great lighting and atmospheric. Not really a hard game though I havent tried ranger mode yet, thatll be next. Not sure what is up with these game developers adding tons of "shoot people till they stop coming swarms" into their games, its annoying and really unrealistic. Mini gun part at the end for instance, really they toss out a flamer right after you run out of your kill anything mini gun ammo? ugh.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2013, 04:55 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 987
Default

Grabbed this on the last sale, played as far as the first mission, very impressed with the visuals, wow. How do you guys access the built in benchmark util? And there is a FOV tweak I'm told, does anyone have experience with it or any tips?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2013, 06:01 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,706
Default

The benchmark utility can be found in the game's main directory.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Take away the Metro UI, Win 8 is a winner. crazyea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 216 April 21, 2013 12:32 AM
metro 2033 roh_ultima Off Topic 5 August 22, 2011 10:08 PM
Metro 2033 Musabi Gaming 1 May 19, 2010 07:16 PM
[WTB] Metro 2033 BobbyLou Buy/Sell & Trade 5 May 11, 2010 07:28 PM
Metro 2033 burebista Gaming 88 March 24, 2010 12:17 PM