Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2012, 03:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 442

My System Specs

Default NFS Shift 2

I broke this game too.

It was working, but now when I try to start the game it goes through the activation process, asks for the validation code, and once entered it pauses for a second, tells me that the "Activation was successful" and then closes. No game. Nothing. Checked taskmaster and there are no processes running. What happened? I did have a wheel hooked up last time I played the game that is not there now but that should not prevent the game from starting.

I uninstalled and reinstalled the game - no change.

Any ideas?

Could this be yet another Windows 8 thing?

I did try to install Flight Gear which did not work either, maybe Fight Gear changed something??

Will try uninstalling Flight Gear and see if that makes any difference.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2012, 07:03 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Whens the last reformat.... Might be time.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 01:23 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Most likely doesn't run in windows 8, try to load up the exe in the origin folder.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 02:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 58

My System Specs

Default

I know they have made alot of changes on the engine since Shift 2 but Project CARS runs in windows 8. Unfortunatly the game closed today the registrations.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 09:28 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,463

My System Specs

Default

I'll start playing it tomorrow on Win 7, will keep you in the loop
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 09:39 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 442

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromey View Post
Whens the last reformat.... Might be time.
I just assembled this system last month so I doubt it's due, but when does one need to reformat anyway? Never reformated a drive. Defrag yes but never a reformat.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 09:54 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,463

My System Specs

Default

might be that you have the windows 8 and it does not like it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2012, 12:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 442

My System Specs

Default

I have sent in my problem to EA Tech support will post the reply once I get it.

I don't understand why it would have worked for a while - played it half dozen times. But now it won't load and only goes to the Authorization screen which it never did before. Odd.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thrustmaster RGT and NFS Shift 2? yanhchan Gaming 7 April 27, 2011 01:31 PM
Shift 2 on Steam??? Chromey Gaming 10 April 2, 2011 09:24 PM
Shift 2 Graphics Chromey Gaming 3 March 30, 2011 02:46 PM
NFS Shift problemS! Cadence Gaming 6 September 28, 2009 06:48 PM
Need For Speed Shift cmac79 Gaming 41 April 26, 2009 07:45 AM