Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 04:34 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default Steam question

Can games that use Steam be played when a laptop doesn't have internet access?

I plan to bring a laptop to cottage and I was told it won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 04:37 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

You need to put the steam client into offline mode while you still have a connection. There's an option in the upper L/H corner of the steam client to "go offline".
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 04:40 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Thanks for the reply.

Does that mean if I close the screen it will not work when I open it again?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 04:44 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

I honestly don't know, but I'd suspect it'll stay in offline mode so long as you don't attempt to sign into the client on another PC.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 05:42 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,586

My System Specs

Default

Steam will stay in offline mode until you switch it to online mode.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 05:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Just remember that you have to be online in order to switch it over to offline.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 05:50 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,735

My System Specs

Default

Also depends on the game...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 06:07 AM
Deeival's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 285
Default

Steam offline mode works quit well. It will stay in offline mode even when you restart your laptop.

Keep in mind that some games (only Anno 2170 comes to mind atm) have their own DRM bullshit where you need to be connected to the internet no matter what mode Steam is in.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 07:14 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 960
Default

Max Payne 3 won't work either if Social Club can't sign in. My experience anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2012, 08:18 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

... and that's why that kind of DRM is complete bullshit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam steam steam... Arinoth O/S's, Drivers & General Software 22 August 25, 2011 03:37 PM
steam/digital dl question cmac79 Gaming 8 January 27, 2010 09:05 AM
Question about Steam Kilauea Gaming 2 August 24, 2009 05:50 PM
Steam question lanken123 Off Topic 14 April 30, 2009 02:45 PM