Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2008, 10:47 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default CoH not too smooth

I'm starting to get into CoH and even just playing the training missions with nothing really going on I notice the graphics/panning is pretty jerky, I admit I do have everything on max. I would've thought my rig could handle it with ease but it appears not. Is there something I'm missing?

I'm playing it on the comp in my sig and it gets ~14k 3DMark06 scores so it's not really a slouch although not a powerhouse either.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2008, 05:58 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,836
Default

Start messing around with the settings. When I first installed the game on my Vista system it defaulted to DX10 rendering which will slow things down to a crawl. It is also VERY important to install the latest patches since there was one from about 3 months ago that really improved frame rates across the spectrum.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2008, 05:37 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

When I installed the game I had to do numerous updates, about 300Mb worth or so. Every time I boot the game it says that it needs an update to run higher resolutions on Vista which I let it do. Maybe something with that... I'll look into it. Thanks for the heads-up on the DX10, I'll try that too.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2008, 08:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burlington
Posts: 14
Default

I run CoH and CoH:OF in dx10 mode and get 30+ frames a second at 1680x1050 on roughly high settings.

What res are you running it at?

If you want, I'll post up my settings and save you the time of having to play around with them?
__________________
E6300 @ 2.8 GHz // Scythe Ninja REV.B
XFX 8800 GT 512MB // LG L206WTQ 20"
Asus P5B-E // 2x1GB OCZ EL PC6400 Platinum XTC Rev.1
2 x WD 500 GB // Antec Trio 650W
Antec P180 with 2 x Stealth 120mm fan
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2008, 08:32 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

I took out the DX10 and it made a big difference, runs like butter now. I'm running 1920x1200 BTW.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes