Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Gaming

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 04:47 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default 35GB

that's how much space the new Max Payne game is going to consume on your HDD. I didn't use to have harddrives that big, its trying to reach OS size levels.

and really, I don't think I'll mind if its a good game that looks great. My internet connection might if I buy this from steam. Think that's a third of my cap gone in 1 go.

I am hoping HDD price levels drop fairly quickly now, I was running low before this was announced

I'm going to add 1 addendum to this I am not planning on buying this at or before launch, just amazed at the size
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 05:05 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

35GB!?!?!?!

Why the hell would it be that big. I mean even with huge textures that is still considered just massive.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 06:35 PM
Deeival's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 285
Default

Epic cut scenes!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 06:40 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

I would assume some major compression so that it fits on 2x 8.5GB DVDs or something along those lines.

Then again, Rockstar has become notorious for porting things to PC pretty poorly IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 09:12 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I would assume some major compression so that it fits on 2x 8.5GB DVDs or something along those lines.

Then again, Rockstar has become notorious for porting things to PC pretty poorly IMO.
That is so very true. Hell GTA 4 is 15.5GB so I guess if they are using 4k textures on this then it could be this big.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 11:19 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I would assume some major compression so that it fits on 2x 8.5GB DVDs or something along those lines.

Then again, Rockstar has become notorious for porting things to PC pretty poorly IMO.
or, they could be doing what seems to be favoured these days, and putting a minimum of stuff on the disc, and just make you download the game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 04:41 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bissa View Post
or, they could be doing what seems to be favoured these days, and putting a minimum of stuff on the disc, and just make you download the game.
Yeah, only that Canadian broadband doesn't really allow for any sort of downloading. At least if you're with the major 3 that is. 35GB would eat up half of the average bandwidth caps (60GB) for the month.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 04:42 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

I believe they said though that Max Payne 3 is not a direct port, that it's actually designed for the PC.

My guess has to be it's probably a rather long campaign, with in-game cut-scenes and more then likely the multi-stage multiplayer game types they have that may use larger overall maps then most shooters use.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 04:49 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

it probably includes the next years worth of "DLC"...
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 04:50 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Now now, this isn't Biow-I mean EA.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes